Book Review: Ginny H.’s impression of Shakespeare Burning by Charisse Moritz

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog
4 min readSep 8, 2024

Hi, readers! The latest I Love Romance Blog review selection is Shakespeare Burning by Charisse Moritz.

Take it away, Ginny!

Thank you!

Shakespeare Burning by Charisse Moritz

Shakespeare Burning is a Young Adult Sports Romance/Romantic Comedy. Shake LeCasse is a lost kid while still in high school, losing his family, and his lifestyle is now living in his grandmother’s basement. This devastation has him spiraling out of control, turning to things he usually would not turn to. While doing so, he becomes friends with another lost soul, Cleo Lee. She, too, is fighting some internal demons of her own. As they fight to escape their situation, they learn to become friends and learn more about themselves.

This book is impressive from start to finish. I started reading this book several times and put it down. I couldn’t get into the book, but was asked to do the review. So, I loaded the book up and started listening to the book. Goodness, this book had me laughing, tearing up, and reflecting on my high school years. The mantras that we all have are the negative and positive internal conversations going on in our heads all day long. We all know these people, these kids. We are lucky to have lived 5 or more decades, and also know what happens to these children, and that, too, is a very dark subject and had me thinking of all the friends I had lost growing up. I highly recommend listening to this book.

Book Info:

He’s the boy who wants to disappear. One mistake and seventeen-year-old Shake LeCasse lost everything. Now there’s no going back and no way to move forward. The once-popular Varsity hockey captain is living in the basement of a grandmother he barely knows, ditching school, avoiding friends and working hard on self-destruction.

She’s the girl nobody sees. Cleo Lee survives however she can. Lie, cheat, steal, whatever it takes, and saving Mr. Popular isn’t part of the plan. Telling him the truth about the night that destroyed his life is downright dangerous. She needs to keep quiet, be smart and let the guy she’s been half in love with since middle school throw away a future she’d do anything to have. Too bad she sucks at playing it safe.

Universal Reader link: https://books2read.com/u/3Rj1wp

Here’s a teaser from the book…

It’s the end of the world as we know it.

Since I’m about as lucky as Friday the thirteenth, the bell rings as we walk to my locker. The hall floods with shocked bystanders. Teenagers freeze in their tracks and clutch at their hearts. The female population drops to their collective knees and weeps. Might as well wear sealskin boots to a PETA convention. Sing Marilyn Manson in church. Grab a piece of the flag for toilet paper. When Cleo Lee and Shake LeCasse hold hands, it’s the end of the world as we know it. Any second, locusts will fall from the sky, mountains will crumble to dust, the devil will need a wool coat, and wolves will mate with bunnies.

It’s not enough for Shake.

Oh no. The crazy idiot puts on a performance. With all eyes on us, he traps me at my locker, braces his hands on either side and leans over me. He treats me to his legendary grin. He actually finds this amusing. I’m trying hard not to pee myself and consider pinching his nipple, just to wipe the smirk off his face.

“Why?” I beg, poised to run.

“You’re not a secret, Cleo. You’re mine.”

Pittypat goes my heart. Then the universe shifts, because Shakespeare LeCasse dips his blonde curly head and pulls me into his orbit.

AUTHOR: Charisse Moritz

TITLE: Shakespeare Burning

GENRE: Young Adult Romance, Sports Romance, Romantic Comedy

RELEASE DATE: July 29, 2019

PUBLISHER: Independently published

ISBN/ASIN: ‎ B07VWCXSQ2/978–1086411072

OUR RATING: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 stars

REVIEWED BY: Ginny Hofmiller @ I love Romance Blog & Medium.com

Guest Blogger/Reviewer Bio:

I read and write romance stories whenever I have free time. I picked up Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume as a young adult. and then began reading Harlequin Romance Novels. My reading preferences shifted during my adult years, and I developed a fondness for Futuristic Novels and Vampire Novels. My YouTube channel, Creative Crafts with Ginny, centers on art/painting projects. My channel has been successful, but I am looking to expand its content to include book reviews and discussions, hoping to promote my books on the same platform. When not writing or reading, I work on paint-by-numbers projects or produce videos for my channel in my studio.

Thanks for reading our latest book review on ILRB! ♥ Have a great weekend, everyone!

Originally published on iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com on September 5, 2014.

--

--

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog

Multi-genre author of Victorian romance, UPON YOUR RETURN, and 20 other books. Blogger for ILRB & Writing in the Modern Age. Peace lover & fan of cute animals.