Book Review: Moxie’s impression of Wicked Dirty Games by Gemma Berlanti

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog
4 min readSep 5, 2024

Hi, readers! The latest I Love Romance Blog review selection is Wicked Dirty Games by Gemma Berlanti. Take it away, Moxie!

Thank you!

Wicked Dirty Games by Gemma Berlanti

This was my first real attempt at reading a Billionaire Romance. If I’m going to be honest with you, fellow readers, I’m more a grungy biker or struggling musician romance type. Still, I’m a curious person and had the chance to read Wicked Dirty Games for review, so I thought, “Why not?”

The story stars Lila Montgomery, a strong, sassy woman pursuing a degree in psychology and Killean Knight, a billionaire with a reputation as a womanizer and a thing for BDSM. While conducting her research, Lila connects with Killean, sparks fly, and drama happens. Of course, every billionaire’s life has complications, and Killean’s seems to be more dangerous than most. At every turn, Lila finds someone else warning her away from the billionaire.

Wicked Dirty Games will be a fun, breezy read for anyone who is comfortable reading BDSM scenes. The play involved in this novel is relatively mild, though, as with many romance books involving BDSM, there’s not much, if any thought given to the “safe, sane, consensual” mantra. That’s a bit of a shame, as it would have made for a better book. Be forewarned, negotiations and safe words are not part of this book, even if they really should be. As a piece of fantasy, it’s perfectly fine. I often find the idea of “rich guys doing what they want” to be a bigger turn-off than anything else, which is certainly a personal preference on my part. I’m also often not a fan of certain backstory tropes seeming like an excuse for bad behavior. I understand why they’re there, but they can also be a problematic myth that certain communities are trying to battle against, even as media reinforces them.

I did stick with the book and read it, because Gemma Berlanti does suspense very well. Her female characters may be catty and bitchy in many scenes, but they’re smart and they’re capable. After some initial chapters where I wanted Lila to have more agency, she became the smart, sharp woman I was hoping she would be. I liked reading about Lila’s support circle and seeing how she listened to them when it made sense to her. Those characterizations and the suspense elements made this book worth reading. I did want to find out what happened next, though mostly because of Lila.

Book Info:

Everyone has a past. A past you can’t escape…but that doesn’t mean we won’t try. My escape? The club I co-own. Fantasy Hub is a place where identities are kept secret, and fantasies are brought to life. It’s not until a headstrong, sassy woman walks into my club, her presence demanding my attention that lines start to blur. It was only supposed to be one night. No strings attached. No complications. But when our paths cross outside the club walls, it’s impossible for me to stay away. But Lila is kind, pure…innocent. She’s everything I’m not, and a man like me can easily ruin a woman like her. Corrupt her. Destroy her. If I was a good man, I would walk away. If I was a man who always did the right thing, I wouldn’t pursue Lila with a desire to consume her.

But that’s the problem. I’m not.

Universal Reader link: https://bookgoodies.com/a/https://www.amazon.com/Wicked-Dirty-Games-Billionaire/dp/1640345388

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44083837-wicked-dirty-games

Here’s a teaser from the book…

The first thing she noticed was the dark décor of leather and oak wood furniture. There were people socializing, standing and walking around carrying flutes of what Lila assumed was expensive champagne. As she took in their attire of choice, she was glad she decided on the dress she was wearing, the fabric an authentic leather, which she found ironic because she was going to a sex club and leather was synonymous with dominance, submission, and bondage.

The gladiator heels were deadly and suggestive. Her sister India referred to them as fuck me heels.

“I’ll get you a drink,” the man whispered at her ear.

Lila followed his retreating back as he greeted a few people as he made his way to the lounge bar. Suddenly, it hit her. Was her best friend Aiden a regular here? Did that mean he used the club, then? Did her best friend have dark fantasies and taboo erotic tastes?

“Lila, you’re here,” a soft, masculine voice said from behind.

AUTHOR: Gemma Berlanti

TITLE: Wicked Dirty Games

GENRE: Billionaire Romance, Erotic Romance

RELEASE DATE: February 20, 2019

PUBLISHER: Limitless Publishing

ISBN/ASIN: 1640345388

OUR RATING: ♥♥♥ 3 stars

REVIEWED BY: Moxie Marcus

Guest Blogger/Reviewer Bio:

Moxie Marcus is a reader and writer of erotic fiction. She enjoys a good, spicy story with fun characters.

Thanks for reading our latest book review on ILRB! ♥ Have a great rest of your week, everyone!

Originally published at http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com on September 5, 2024.

--

--

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog

Multi-genre author of Victorian romance, UPON YOUR RETURN, and 20 other books. Blogger for ILRB & Writing in the Modern Age. Peace lover & fan of cute animals.