Book Review: Robin’s impression of Ablaze by Violet Elizabeth Moon

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog
4 min readMar 17, 2024

Hi, readers! The latest I Love Romance Blog review selection is Ablaze by Violet Elizabeth Moon.

Take it away, Robin!

Thanks!

Ablaze by Violet Elizabeth Moon

I received this book for free. This does not impact my review in any shape or form.

Ablaze, by Violet Elizabeth Moon, is a short, action packed romance about freeing yourself from parental expectations to be with the one you love. Mia Kealoha was recently able to reconnect with her long lost boyfriend named Desmond, who had somehow gotten involved with pirates, all of which is a cover up for an elaborate scheme to get Desmond to do whatever his parents do. Mia and Desmond resolve to be together, no matter the cost, and together, they find a way to outsmart the authorities and Desmond’s parents in order to achieve their happily ever after.

This was a fast-paced book. A really fast-paced book with little time for world or character building. I feel Moon’s just shoving characters into my face and expecting me to follow along with the story. Moreover, by the time the climax finally arrives, it’s as though someone just whacked me over the head with it. I also think the story was being told from the wrong perspective. Would I want to read about a guy pining after his long lost love? Yes, I would. I really, really would. Rather than just a woman’s who entire world suddenly gets turned around all for the sake of some (lightning round) whirlwind romance.

For now, I would give this book a 3 out of 5 stars. There isn’t objectively anything wrong with the story in general, but if an ex comes crashing into my life and explaining why he’s suddenly with pirates, I would question first.

Many thanks, Robin! ♥

Book Info:

“Sizzling hot, charming, witty, and heartfelt.” — Elizabeth Williams, GoodReads, 5 stars.

Boy billionaire Desmond De La Rosa has been missing for six months.
His fiancée, aspiring musician Mia Kealoha, has not seen or heard from him since. She yearns for his return, but has moved on with her life and now works at one of Honolulu’s most prestigious banks. Mia is half hope, half heartache, until one day her workplace is attacked — by pirates! And Desmond is among them.

The one that got away came back…
…and he’s as sexy as ever. Why did Desmond leave, and can Mia rescue him in time? Can she resist his erotic charms or will they consume her? And after everything that’s happened, will their love still prevail?

Ablaze is a sensual blend of romantic comedy and romantic suspense, starring a brilliant BBW and a protective alpha male. The stakes are high and the tension is thick, and the ending is a delight.

Universal Reader link: https://books2read.com/u/mVYpyM

Here’s a teaser from the book…

When I open my eyes again, the sword hovers centimeters from my chin. I don’t dare to breathe. All I can do is look into the face of my captor. His umber gaze pierces me. Traps me. Eyes I used to love so dearly. Still love, even now. I think back to just a few hours earlier. Truly, I could not have seen this coming.

“Up you get, Love,” I swear he winks at me from behind the mask as he lifts me up, still pointing his sword at me. We are still in the bank in the middle of the robbery; I must have been out for less than a minute. He grabs me by the hips and I feel a jolt of electricity rush through my body as he tosses me over his back. “Later, boys.”

I can’t see anyone’s face as he walks out, but I do get a glimpse of the pirates waiting at the front smirking at us as he steps out of Mantle Money Management.

I can only assume people are staring at us: him, the sexy pirate, and me with my ass in the air. And not in the context it used to when I was with Desmond.

“Put me down,” I mutter.

“Just another block,” he says.

AUTHOR: Violet Elizabeth Moon

TITLE: Ablaze

GENRE: Romantic Comedy, BBW Romance, Multicultural Romance, Romantic Suspense, Erotic Romance, Billionaire Romance

RELEASE DATE: February 1, 2019

PUBLISHER: Indie Published

ISBN/ASIN: B07KQDWFWL

OUR RATING: ♥♥♥ 3 stars

REVIEWED BY: Robin G.

Guest Blogger/Reviewer Bio:

My pen name is Robin Goodfellow. I fell in love with reading after I picked up Fallen by Lauren Kate. I am currently a licensed substance abuse counselor and LPC-A (although I hope to be an LPC soon). I was also a former math and special education teacher. Although I tried going to medical school, it didn’t work out. On the bright side, I’ve got more time for reading and writing! Mental health is a personal passion of mine, as is crochet, and annoying my husband.

This book looks interesting! ♥ We’ll check it out…

Thanks for reading our latest book review on ILRB! ♥ Have a great week, everyone!

Originally published at http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com on March 17, 2024.

--

--

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog

Multi-genre author of Victorian romance, UPON YOUR RETURN, and 20 other books. Blogger for ILRB & Writing in the Modern Age. Peace lover & fan of cute animals.