Book Review: V.B.’s impression of Captivated by Clio by Tanisha D. Jones

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog
4 min readMay 4, 2023

If you haven’t checked the updates to our review policy, please do. Review requests are currently closed, but we are trying to catch up on our TBR list. Please view our new review team on the ‘About Us’ page. The latest I Love Romance Blog review selection is Captivated by Clio by Tanisha D. Jones. Take it away, V.B.!

Thanks!

I loved this book from the first page! It’s an enchanting love story that surely seems like it can’t work out, but gets hot and steamy right off, and keeps going. Clio and Noah have history. I rooted for them the whole way as I worried their relationship would implode. Their initial relationship had ended horribly years before, and now they have a seemingly destined adventure that tempts them to hook up as they work together.

The chemistry is spot on. The sexual tension is perfectly built. The author did an amazing job giving you both his and her POV. They were woven together so seamlessly, that you flowed through the story with no effort, just experiencing their growing love as it happens. Adventuring after a pirate’s treasure through Louisiana and the Caribbean was enjoyable too.

Part of why the story moves so well is its plot. It’s a treasure hunt, literally. As Clio and Noah chase down the clues, exciting and fun things happen all along the way. As good as any mystery, the author gives you answers and twists without being cliché or trite. It was simply fun to read. And, reading it felt very much like playing Lara Croft or watching an Indiana Jones movie, but with a truly “colorful” cast.

If your romance books have been too white (and I mean it literally…too many romance books need this book’s “black girl magic”), or lack “make you breathe hard” sex scenes, this one is the cure! I dearly hope the author hasn’t stopped writing. She needs to give us more stories! [It took some time to get this review done for her, and I didn’t find later titles on Amazon.] Regardless, I can’t wait to get my hands on her other two novels. I’m recommending her to all my romance reading friends. I hope you love this book as much as I did.

There is a single caveat, and I only mention it because I’m also an author, and noticed these things. This book needed a better final edit or proofread. Tiny typos, wrong words, spacing issues, all minor, happened, and they took a bit of polish off the final product. I am “NOT” discounting my review stars, though. The story, characters, and feel of this book are just too good. In fact, I’d edit a revised reprint for her for free. Please do not not read this book for its very few flaws. That said, if you are the kind of English major or fussy reader who’d discount an amazing book for its imperfect grammar, consider yourself warned. I ignored the few “mistakes” and relished the experience.

NOTE: I was provided a copy of this fantastic novel in exchange for an honest review. I liked it so much that I bought the ebook too.

I give this book 5 hearts because it resurrected a college love that was always meant to be a forever-after relationship. It earns extra points for giving us such intelligent, beautiful, and driven characters. Clio is ten times better than Indy or Lara Croft; all little girls should hope to become a woman like her or her sister. Muses, indeed!

Book Info:

The last time Clio saw Noah, he was laughing at her. Now she needs him to help her solve a family mystery that could literally make history. Swallowing her pride, she comes face to face with the arrogant boy who somehow has become a dangerously sexy man.

Noah had to admit, the adorable pixie of a woman intrigued him as much as she frustrated him. Her offer was one he would be crazy to refuse. The chance to sail the sun soaked Caribbean in search of sunken treasure was tempting. But her hazel eyes tempted him even more.

Universal Reader link: https://books2read.com/u/3nNpMK Here’s a peek at the book…

AUTHOR: Tanisha D. Jones

TITLE: Captivated by Clio: A Modern Muses Story

GENRES: multicultural romance, romantic comedy, adventure romance

Release date: January 22, 2021

Publisher: Indie Published

ISBN/ASIN: B0945CW1H4

OUR RATING: ♥♥♥♥♥

REVIEWED BY: V.B. “Can Do Indie Author”

Thanks for reading our latest book review on ILRB! ♥ Have a great week, everyone!

Reviewer Bio: VB is an indie author who writes romance and Sci Fi and voraciously reads anything (with some limits). When she’s not reading and writing, she’s working a day job to pay for her truck habit and puttering around her house.

Originally published at http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com on May 4, 2023.

--

--

Marie Lavender
I Love Romance Blog

Multi-genre author of Victorian romance, UPON YOUR RETURN, and 20 other books. Blogger for ILRB & Writing in the Modern Age. Peace lover & fan of cute animals.