Learning from Rocky

How watching Rocky inspired me to pursue my dreams

Eduardo Sasso
I. M. H. O.
Published in
3 min readMay 5, 2013

--

I don't remember exacly when it was the first time I watched Rocky, I would say that I was probably between 5 to 8 years old, I remember flashes of that movie like in the beginning when Rocky was fighthing in the church against Spider Rico or when he was starting his tranning to fight Apollo waking up around four something am drinking five raw eggs before going for a run in the cold streets of Philadelphia, or during the fight where Apollo couldn't beleive that Rocky wouldn't give up and wanted to go the distance, those are unforgatable moments in my memory.

Rocky had a big influence in my life and helped shape my personality. Over the years I've watched the Rocky series countless times, sometimes I would watch just for fun, sometimes I would watch before an important event so I could feel motivated. I remember everything about the movies, lines, trivia, behind the scenes I studied it all, I went to Philly, ran the Rocky steps in the Philadelfia art museum, took photos in front of Mick's Gym, his house and the petshop Adrian used to work in the suburbs of Philadelfia, I confess I'm a fan.

People usually make fun of me because I like Rocky they mock me "Adriaann!!!" or they play "Eye of the Tiger" thinking that it's the original Rocky soundtrack but they don't have the slightest clue that Eye of the Tiger was only introduced in Rocky III and that it was Stallone that came up with the original idea of the song and invited a unknown band at the time called Survivor to record it, anyways…

What I've realized is that people don't get it, it's not about music, the fights the cheesy lines, the essence of the movie lies in one simple idea, don't give up, train hard, fight hard, give your best shot, you might not win like Rocky didn't on the first movie but he sure gave his best. I always felt like Rocky the underdog, nothing came easy and watching Rocky over and over through the years helped me unconsciously follow my dreams, overcoming failures and always think if I give my best good things will happen.

Rocky taught me to be passionate and put my heart on everything I do. Growing up having Rocky as a role model made me understand that life isn't a linear happy path, life is full of challenges and obstacles and plenty of opportunities to give everything up and stay in the couch watching TV doing nothing.

The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!

Rocky taught me to exercise and stay fit not only phisically but mentally, following Rocky I learned that I will only succeed if I prepare myself, whatever I do I need to train, practice, prepare and repeat this cycle over and over and put my heart on it if I want to succeed, it's not easy but that's how it is for underdogs, you gotta keep fightying because Micky haven’t heard any bell.

--

--