Being over your head

Barnett Klane
I. M. H. O.
Published in
1 min readJun 30, 2013

I often think of it as trying to accomplish a task knowing, that based on probability, you will fail.

As Chad Hurley discusses his early days starting YouTube he says,

“We didn't know what the hell we were doing…. we just kinda figured it out as we went along….if we really thought about it …. we wouldn't have built YouTube.”

By taking the problem and breaking it down to a bunch of smaller problems, people are able to work through tasks that at one time would have seemed insurmountable.

After learning how to program over the past 8 months, I started working on a system that can create custom multi-product user guide’s based on the products a user inputs. It was my first project, and I was hesitant to begin. The idea of failing to create the product was even more terrifying than the company failing.

Now, I’m only two and a half weeks in and more than half way through programming the web app. There is no way I would be here if I didn't break down what needed to get done into a multi-hour long problems that could be effectively worked through (used Trello here).

I am still not finished, but instead of worrying about being over my head, I am going to just move onto the next problem.

--

--

Barnett Klane
I. M. H. O.

Hacking the mainframe of life. Building @bugcrowd. Built https://snow.watch . Guacamole enthusiast. ⛷ 🚴