How Not to Recruit a Technical Cofounder

Derek Morris
I. M. H. O.
Published in
3 min readApr 21, 2013

I love networking and helping fellow entrepreneurs out, so I’m always up for a cup of coffee with anyone who asks. These interactions help me develop as an entrepreneur and are a great way to connect with the community around you. Sometimes however, these meetings go south rather quickly. During my previous startup, I encountered one of these interactions and I would like to share it as an example of how not to recruit a technical cofounder.

The three Ds of how not to recruit a technical cofounder.

  1. Dishonesty
  2. Delusion
  3. Disrespect

Subject: Hello From a LinkedIn Technologist
Greetings Derek,
My name is [Redacted Name] and I am a recent graduate of [Redacted University], currently working in Chicago at LinkedIn.
I am currently working on a tech project that I think you may be really excited about. Let me know if you are open to brief exploratory conversation. I found you on LinkedIn while identifying top notch software engineering talent (Javawith.Me looks impressive) and I think you might be interested in this project.
Just let me know if you are open to talking and we will set up a call.

A few back and forths about setting up a meeting before it becomes unclear if he is recruiting for LinkedIn like his original email indicated.

Derek,
The company is called [Redacted startup] which you can check out at www.redacted.com . And its a tech startup that helps users finds events around them in real time as well as post events to their immediate community. I’m looking for a Software Engineer who would wear many hats.
If you are interested, and you end up making a sustained commitment to the project you could craft your own title anything from co-founder to Software Warlord. The key is I’m looking for someone who is interested in working with me to take a startup with huge potential to the national stage.

1. Dishonesty

When recruiting a co-founder (technical or not) be upfront about what you desire from them. This person pulled a bait and switch in the hopes that I would be interested. This kind of dishonesty is not something that you look for in co-founder

2. Delusion

I love founders who are fanatical about their vision. However, there is a time and place to pivot or start something else. If you are trying to find a technical co-founder, you must prove to them that you are worth their time and risk. In this case a 4 year old startup with no traction and a single non-technical employee wanted me to breathe life into his dead end. Where’s the value proposition for the developer?

3. Disrespect

If technology is core to your startup and you have no devs to build the startup, then the first dev is automatically a co-founder. Convincing this developer to buy into your vision is your first and primary job. Until that is complete, you are just spinning your wheels. This company was one employee and an idea. A developer is not a “Software Warlord” that will work until you determine they deserve co-founder status.

Finding the right cofounder is hard and finding one with software skills can be even harder. However, in general its best to be open, honest and respectful with others. Hold these ideals high and you’ll be sure to find the perfect fit for you and your company.

Be merry and drink coffee

Follow me on Twitter @derek_j_morris

Unlisted

--

--

Derek Morris
I. M. H. O.

3D Organ Printing (United Therapeutics $UTHR), Bio/Bitcoin/AI (@HVFLabs) Death is a disease. Cure it.