You. Will. Die.

How to keep first things first and not sweat the small stuff

Joel Patrick
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2013

--

There are a lot of people in this world. 7.119 billion to be precise.

According to the CIA 12.44% are Mandarin Chinese speakers, 2% are atheists, 2.3% are Nigerian, and 41% are between the age of 25 and 54. And what do they all have in common?

100% of them will die.

I’ll rephrase that. You are going to die.

A few months back I had dinner with an elderly entrepreneur from Hong Kong. He explained that insurance companies use life tables (or actuarial science) to predict the life expectancy of a person based on age. His point: we’re living longer.

Thus, women born in Monaco in 2013 will, on average, live to be 94.

This is obviously a good thing. But there’s an upshot.

Parkinson’s law basically states that a task will take as long as you give it. That’s because the urgency of the task isn’t truly felt until the deadline is looming.

Here’s the consequence: as death is stalled, so is the urgency that comes with living in light of it.

I once had a nightmare that involved my death. My loved ones were distraught. I (ironically enough) was saddened as it unfolded before me.

When I awoke the vividness of the dream remained with me.

That was a great day.

For that day I truly didn’t care about the things that don’t matter and was immensely grateful for the things that do.

Here’s my advice to you. Regularly say these these words: “I am going to die.”

Let the weight of it rest on you.

Let the urgency compel you.

Appreciate the important.

Forget the rest.

Spread the word: tweet it and recommend below

Subscribe to my Medium posts

--

--

Joel Patrick
I. M. H. O.

Texas-born, London-based. Investing time/energy in startups. Former CPO of health social network @HealthUnlocked. https://joelpatrick.co @joelapatrick