Stop Hashtagging!

#Hashtags makes not sense at Facebook

Hold on your core values, don’t adapt things what doesn’t fit.

Eren Goemleksiz
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2013

--

Facebook is the biggest Social Network in the World (Congrats!). They launched 2004 the platform, which was easy to use and plain. You knew at this point it’s all about connecting and sharing with your friends. But if you look today on Facebook, then you can see a lot of new products like Groups, Apps, Places, Hashtags and so on. Facebook is growing and growing day-to-day. I want talking about the feature #Hashtag. So let’s start with an example what Hashtag is and what to do with it.

#Apple is launching the #iPhone5s on 10th September in Cupertino!

You can tag with the # (pronounced hash) a word, where everybody can see your message about iPhone5s and Apple. What you do is just tagging some words in your message — That’s it. Ok the business behind the hashtag feature is an other story! I’m just talking about the value for the User and nothing else.

Sorry Facebook, but we understand our business much more better.

Well, I mean Facebook is a Social Network. As you can see right now Facebook is much more a Network for connecting and sharing with your friends and family. And these things works really well. But hashtags doesn’t fit to Facebook! Why? Because I use Facebook to connect with my friends and family and I’m not looking on Facebook for trending topics. I want have a beautiful car, which should drive really nice and I don’t want a car which is driving, flying and diving — These things makes not sense (Sorry Facebook, you’re not Twitter). When I fly I just hop in a plane and not in a car. So it doesn’t make sense to use hashtagging on Facebook, because I want to stay in touch with my friends and not with guys which I never met him. Facebook somehow tries to be everything, but that’s a false approach. Every Platform has his own Place. Facebook has not positioned itself as a micro channel with 140 characters, twitter made it and works well. Therefore I’m using Twitter to tweet short messages. I use Twitter to get interesting tweets by people I follow and nothing else. Facebook should deliver her users a better access mode to get a better social experience like a Video Chat (Facebook Hangouts) which has a strategy value. They should build a better way to communicate with my friends and family. They shouldn’t overblow their own platform with useless things.

--

--

Eren Goemleksiz
I. M. H. O.

Computer Scientist,Thinks Entrepreneurial & Does things that others don’t