www.flickr.com/photos/anna/421407539

Part-Time Entreprenuer: There’s no such thing.

Rodrigo García
I. M. H. O.
2 min readJun 29, 2013

--

I think that everyone’s dream is to have their own business. Being their own boss and run things as they say. Also, I believe that having a board of advisors and mentor is something that you have all life long, not only when you run a company. This board is found within your friends.

Beginning last year, my hope was to become an entrepreneur. To build a lean startup with my savings and take over the world. At least that’s why I thought would happen, obviously with the help of friends that could become co-founders with great dedication and commitment. All this without quitting my day job (which was funding every effort towards this goal).

Preparing for this chapter of my life wasn’t an easy task. I spent almost 6 months studying Marketing Essentials, Financial Markets and Objective-C. Not to mention all those nights reading Entrepreneur, Inc.com and watching Shark Tank (it is really helpful, believe me).

So here we are, almost a year later with lots of books read and a lot of talking with great friends, such as Jonás Ortega and Ricardo Suárez, and I haven’t been able to found my first startup. Why? At first I thought I was lacking commitment, then I saw that I couldn’t do it by myself and brought in really smart people to help me out and share the dream, finally I realized that time wasn’t enough. Here’s why: I find that working isn’t part of my daily activities. I mostly enjoy everything I do and get paid for it. I procastinate, yes, but just to find more opportunities to structure the things I do daily and check in my Done List. This translates to fear. I truly believe that if I quit my day job I’ll be able to found a successful startup that will help the [redacted] industry from day 1. I fear to be wrong and blindly go down the rabbit-hole.

To him who is in fear everything rustles. -Sophocles

Something has to change and that something can’t be found in books or courses. Time is a huge factor but there’s definitely something that could change in order to achieve results faster.

Thanks to everyone that has been with me in this road. All your feedback and love is truly appreciated. Without you I wouldn’t be able to keep moving forward. A very slow pace but forward, nonetheless.

--

--

Rodrigo García
I. M. H. O.

Operations Manager @social_rocks #Mezcal #SocialMedia #NFL #Titans! Views expressed are my own personal opinions.