Alone.

Kyle Frost
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2013

--

Alone. Such a stigma is attached to the word, only heightened by the pervasiveness of technology and it’s ability to keep us constantly connected.

Last February, being stressed and overworked, I decided to get out of San Diego and do some camping. I had it all planned out: grab a couple friends, some beers, and get away for the weekend. Naturally, it didn’t work out like that; partially because my friends flaked and partially because I am terrible at making plans.

That Friday I had a choice. I could stay and join my friends in another weekend of beach volleyball and various shenanigans, or alternatively set off for Mojave by myself. Obviously I chose the latter.

What is most interesting is the reaction you get from people when you say you went to go hiking or backpacking (or really anything) by yourself. “Wait, you just went alone?” “Like, you met people there, or were you actually just by yourself?” “That’s crazy, I could never do that”.

We need to rethink the stigma of being ‘alone’. There is value in being alone with your thoughts and disconnecting for a bit. Don’t miss chances to experience new things just because you are at first uncomfortable doing them by yourself.

A couple of experiences I never would have had if I had not gone alone:

Camping on a mesa in Mojave
Morning
So many stars
Kearsarge Lakes

--

--

Kyle Frost
I. M. H. O.

Digital product designer and photographer. I lead design @theoutbound. www.kylefrost.com