The end of Instagram in 15 seconds

Nicole Cardoza
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2013

--

I wish I could get this to be a 15-second read. I’ll do my best.

Facebook has done two great things by adding video to Instagram. First, they’ve successfully created a wildly popular platform for users to create high-quality content easily to be shared on its network. And since they’ve invested so much in discovery features like Graph Search, hashtags, and even Facebook Home, they need content that’s easy on the eyes more than ever.

Secondly, they’ve made a video ad network that can potentially allow brands to pay to add their 15-second ads to newsfeeds, on both Instagram and Facebook alike. Deceptively camoflagued by user-generated content (consumers and brands alike), these ads can be highly targeted not just to the insane demographic data Facebook already has, but reflective of the videos these people like to watch as well, using the hashtags they coincidentally just launched.

To me, I always thought Instagram was about stories. It enabled anyone to share their life and loves, regardless of artistic ability, in a visually-pleasing manner. Users grouped together by similar interests and causes, intimate memories shared as widely or discreetly as one liked. The uproar about privacy and ownership from last year wasn’t because of NSA scares, but the desire to own and cherish these memories, keeping them safe from advertisements and misrepresentation.

I honestly never thought Instagram would go down this path, but now I am not so sure. It’s all a slew of events that push towards monetization and profitability, which Facebook needs now more than ever before. It’ll take some time until we know for sure, but I already don’t like where this video is going.

--

--

Nicole Cardoza
I. M. H. O.

Executive Director of Yoga Foster, founder of Reclamation Ventures. Passionate about making wellness accessible for all. Follow me on IG @nicoleacardoza.