Why every video should have a transcript

Nick Schmidt
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2013

More and more people are using YouTube these day. Many use them to watch some funny videos, some watch the Gangnam Style and others are watching videos that teach you anything. YouTube is changing the way how we consume videos. It’s social and you can share them.

Please let me specify on the videos that teach you something.

Recently I was watching a video about how to design something, when I turned on the (automatically generated) german subtitle I was shocked. It was awful what I read there. I thought about how nice it would be, if there were a transcript on every video. Written by the author or by a viewer.

It would have many pro’s and almost no con’s. There would be the a possible translation of an (for example) english video to german with a subtitle. But there would be also a nice feature that’s called Google.

That’s the point! What, if Google could search the contents of videos? Videos are a the type of media from which I (personally) can learn best from. And if now Google could search videos it would be just awesome.

Let me tell you some random moment: You are searching for a video how to design a interface for some random web app and you just find ugly and not helpful tutorials written in text form. Wouldn’t it be better if you could search the video for some keywords and then find the right video?

Don’t get me wrong. There is already the title and the keywords. Sure! But if you are searching something on the web you are not able to find the phrase you wrote in the search field in the title or in the tags every time. Are you?

Disclaimer: This is a personal opinion!

--

--