SEINFELD

Give yourself advice

The awesomeness of speaking in the third person

Brandon Carl
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2013

--

The best advice I ever received was in 2004. I was 23, and had just started working on Wall Street. My then-boss, Steve Diekmann, was explaining to me how to excel at your job. He said:

“Picture the person who is the best at your job among the entire world. Picture what they do, and then do it.”

We all love to give advice. I particularly love it. And the funny thing is, the solution to other people’s problems are often so clear from the outside. Some examples:

You’re sick of being underpaid? Ask for a raise.

Tired of your industry? Start educating yourself.

Can’t pay your rent? Stop buying crates of clothing and furniture.

In an abusive relationship? Leave and don’t see him again!

It ain’t rocket science, and most of the time we already know the answer to our problems.

So step up and give yourself advice. Just over a year ago, I was productively unfocused and had ideas all over the map. Here’s an excerpt from my advice to myself:

Brandon, you have a wealth of ideas and high levels of productivity when you’re excited by an idea. But you love bright, shiny things. You chase creative whims and lack discipline. If you keep down this path, you’ll do a lot of little things, but you’ll never create anything great. Learn to focus, choose one idea, and run with it. Otherwise, quit complaining.

In the words of Jon Tyson, one of my pastors: “if we keep on doing what we’re doing, we’ll keep on getting what we’re getting.”

--

--