Pebble smartwatch

I know we’re hurting for tech, but a smartwatch?

Justin Gibbs
I. M. H. O.
2 min readJun 27, 2013

--

Apple has made us addicts. They did it slowly - releasing the iPod, then iTunes, a little later the iPhone, then iPad, you could even include the MacBook Air. And they made addicts of us all. Just stop by an Apple Store to see grandparents clamoring to see the latest devices. We’re addicted to revolutionary tech and not just from Apple anymore, the latest Samsung phone works just as well. But what happens when the supply runs low?

You start looking for alternatives to get you by. Start talking up AppleTV and Smart TVs even though the former has been around for years with little impact and the latter has been labeled a dud. When those can’t hold you over you’re really fiending. Which might explain all the hype around smart watches. When I first heard about Pebble and they’re Kickstarter campaign I thought there must be something there. The Internet was a buzz with talk of smartwatches, people were donating money to the project. Visiting the site though, I felt sorely let down. There doesn’t seem to be much here. Great seeing it was open to developers but why would I want to wear something on my wrist again? Did it have any more functionality than my phone? Wait, what did I gain by having this on my wrist?

My feeling is the smartwatch is going to leave a lot of people sore and truely jonesing for something new. I sure hope something shows up by then.

--

--

Justin Gibbs
I. M. H. O.

Head of Product at Ruvixx.com playing at the intersection of big data, machine learning, and data driven development in the Licensing/Brand Protection industry.