If you build it, they will come (but they may not return)

Why building a website isn’t enough; you must keep testing it in order to grow and improve

James Root
I. M. H. O.
2 min readNov 11, 2013

--

The investment in a web build or redesign may be considered by many business owners to be an unnecessary expense, or may be left for the HiPPO to collaborate with a designer to build with no science behind it at all. That is ludicrous and downright bad business and I’ll show you why using a real-life example:

“It cost us £25,000 to build in 2005 and I can use the site just fine, it’s generating revenue so why change it?” says the MD. “Well, simply looking at the site,” replies Head Designer, “it is quite dated. Take a look at your competitors’ site. Look how shiny it is!”

“Have you read the reports I sent you,” says a voice from the back of the Boardroom. “The report on high traffic/low converting pages that need attention? The click map that shows that nobody clicks on the carousel links, let alone converts from it? Or have you considered my recommendations to improve the checkout?”

“Sorry, you are?” replies the MD.

“I’m the Conversion Guy. You’ve been employing me for a few months but haven’t responded to my emails and your Design Team don’t either. In fact they talk about me behind my back and perceive me as a threat. I’m not threatening at all; I like animals and rum and reading the New Yorker. I want to help your Design Team. I want to help you. I can increase your online revenue.

“Rather than throw good money after bad by redesigning the site (again) — changes that will probably not make any impact on your revenue — why not test the website via a/b and MVT with the end goal of improving user experience and conversion rates? Then we’ll know exactly what needs to change on the site instead of throwing sh*t at a wall and hoping some of it sticks.

“Rather than imitate competitors or listen to what appleboy over there says about clean lines and carousels, let our users decide. Kinda like X Factor but without the irritation or bleeding eardrums or having to tolerate cretins such as Cowell or Osbourne for an hour and a half.

“Fair, Split traffic tests that will show us which version of a web page lead users to convert to sale. Data that will justify business decisions, or that can actually make them for you. Science, not guesswork.

“So, are you with me?”

Learn more about CRO

--

--

James Root
I. M. H. O.

Digital content strategist and conversion guy. Journalist by trade.