Now is the time to act.

Bear
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2013

Now is the time to act. Not tomorrow. Not this afternoon, evening, or when you can find the time. Now.

Urgency. You have to feel it. If you act as if a certain part of your life is in crisis you’ll find the will to act. Because you have to. No-one else is going to do it for you. Friends and family can advise you, but they can’t do whatever it is you want to do.

‘Yeah, yeah, act now, don’t procrastinate…’

No, I don’t think you get it. What if you had only one year to live and you didn't know about it? Would you simply carry on with life as normal? My guess is most would. But that’s the whole point. You do only have an unknowable fixed period of time left. 40 years? 4 years? 4 days? 4 hours? What if this was your last afternoon? If it was me, I’d be crying my eyes out.

I don’t want to have lived without having lived.

So now is the time to act. Get it? Life exists in the moment by moment experiences we have. Forget about the past, it doesn't exist any more. Decide on the simple experience you’re going to have in the next moment, and act.

Decide, then act. Decide, then act. It’s that simple.

Don’t spend too much time thinking about what to do first. List everything you want to do. Write out a simple concrete act for each one. For example, search for programming courses on the web, update my CV/resume, download a French language learning app, find the best burger in the city, ask out that guy/girl, tell whoever you love that you love them. Then just do it in whatever order you feel like. And then once completed write another simple concrete act, do it, and then write another.

Again, I can’t stress enough of the importance of not spending too much time thinking about what to do first. If what you want to do doesn't harm your’s or another's health or wealth you have nothing to fear, just act. You could narrow it down to just health. I might write another post on risking wealth.

Time spent thinking could be time spent acting.

Don’t worry about whether it’s the right thing or wrong thing to do. They’re just experiences and pretty much everything new you try will initially be hard.

So now is the time to act. I know you've got it.

--

--

Bear
I. M. H. O.

Making beautiful and useful things. Still reading. Still trading.