Post Grad Problems?

“College is the best four years of your life.”

Joe Scannell
I. M. H. O.
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2013

--

If I had a dime for every time I heard someone say that, I would probably have five bucks and some change, which isn’t a lot, but that’s not the point. The point is that I hate hyperbole. And also that there seems to be a pervasive belief that it’s all downhill after you graduate from college.

I reject that premise.

I think that it’s easy to focus and complain about work place problems, the ailing job market, or living on a tight budget, but I’d rather focus on the good. Life after college is different, no doubt about that. But, it’s definitely not downhill. In fact, I think it’s better. Much better.

Here’s why.

Money

No matter how little or big your income may be, the fact of the matter is that (in this writers humble opinion) working and making money beats the pants off of going to school and diving deeper into debt. No matter how much you hate or love your job, whatever disposable income you have can lead to a lot of great memories and experiences. Half the fun of being a twenty-something is trying to find creative and inexpensive ways to explore and entertain yourself. That challenge has led me to join a softball league, participate in drunk spelling bees, and discover how much fun it is to go kayaking. None of those activities break the bank, but they have created some of the best memories of my short post-grad life.

Hobbies

Another benefit of that aforementioned disposable income is the resurgence of hobbies. As an undergrad, I was so focused on classes and getting a job that most of my favorite hobbies and passions fell to the wayside. Music, writing, reading, and videos games all vanished sometime between my sophomore and senior year. To put it into perspective, I was an English major. Do you know the last time I read for fun?

2009.

It’s great to have the time and money to support my passions and hobbies again. I've finally started to get back into video games, read for pleasure, and write for my own enjoyment. It’s a great feeling and helps immensely with my work life balance.

Perspective

This is last for a reason: it’s the most important. I believe it was the great Poet Laureate Tupac Shakur that once said, “You don’t know what you've got ‘til it’s gone.” His words still ring true today. When I graduated, “free time” as I used to understand it (e.g. taking a nap after class, playing guitar into the early morning, etc) completely disappeared. No more napping through class or late night video game marathons. Your post-grad life is largely dominated by your work schedule. So what does that mean?

Well, for me, it meant a whole lot of perspective. I took for granted how great it was to have all of my best friends within walking distance at any given time. So now, when I can find time for a happy hour or if a friend is in town visiting, I treasure every minute. I turn my phone face down and savor the company. There’s no telling when they’ll move or when I’ll see them next. That awareness has caused me to stop taking those little moments and memories for granted. I also get to start saving for travel to see some of the friends that have scattered to other parts of the country (Austin, Portland, Seattle, and San Francisco: I’m coming for you!).

Is life after college different? Absolutely.

Do I believe in #PostGradProblems? Not a chance.

--

--