Team Work

And How to Not to Forget Yourself

Nico Mulyawan
I. M. H. O.
2 min readOct 16, 2013

--

Recently I have been drowning myself in this thought:

If you are a team person, do you place team’s priority on top of yours, or just simply be a better team player?

I can’t tell you what’s the right formula, yet.

But this is what I feel:

Being a team person forces the most out of the person. You learn how to cope with your self-expectancy as well as team’s expectations. Most of the time, this two will clashes, resulted in an inevitable painful decision-making.

You will need to pick, your shine-bright-like-a-diamond ego, or the all-for-the-team passion.

Often in time, I see people who are way too good as an individual contributor, or those who are a very good team player but they forgot themselves.

For example:

If you are a sales person, you have your own target to reach monthly. After you reach it, then only you will start to think how to help your colleagues’ target, right? Save your ass before others. I’d totally do the same.

And relationship plays a big role here. We as a socially-unique mammals create our own hierarchy of friendships and stick to it for life. We have acquaintances, friends, BFFs, friends for fuck and many others. We treat each other differently, while expecting others to treat us equally. Cheh.

So how? How to be a good team player while still feeding your ego?

I have no answer yet as I’m still exploring this cruel cold corporate world.

I will tell you one day. And hopefully, when that day comes, I am already a good team player with adequate self-respect.

--

--