The importance of “Showing up”

Abhi Jain
I. M. H. O.
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2013

One of the greatest suggestion that I have ever got is to “Just Show Up”.

Opportunities rarely come knocking at your door. I am sure you have been in scenarios where you felt that someone just got lucky because they were at the right place, at the right time, with right set of people. Keep in mind that this could have been you if you were there. One thing important to note here is that this “getting lucky” situation would never happen to you if you are lazy enough to not show up for things.

One of my mentor told me once that even if you are doubtful about the importance of a gathering/meeting you should still show up as you can always leave, if you don’t find it relevant/interesting. by not showing up you are leaving it to your gut feeling to decide what is important or not and at times your gut feeling might be wrong, depriving you of great potential opportunities.

In today’s pseudo-connected world (through various social networks) it is very easy to get a perception of being connected and being omni present, however trust me these social networks can not replace the importance of face-to-face interactions and the relationships and the opportunities that come with it.

--

--

Abhi Jain
I. M. H. O.

Biz-dev executive @Google, Founding member @GooglePlay Books & Newsstand, mentor @LaunchpadAccelerator, my own opinions