The new Google+ layout is great

Shiva Narrthine
I. M. H. O.
3 min readMay 18, 2013

--

There’s this thing about social networks and constantly changing their layouts. Sometimes they are so close to getting it right, sometimes absolutely wrong, but rarely perfect.

Google revealed a redesign for Google+ during the Google I/O keynote, and I think that’s the best thing they ever did to Google+.

Content first approach

Google+ has always been about content. I’m not sure if this was intentional or just due to the fact most of us didn’t have our usual ring of friends on it, but it certainly placed it apart from the rest.

While previous layouts did put content first, the new cards-pinterest-like layout is perfect for this. Now, the purpose of the post gets highlighted really well especially if there are pictures or videos (which most G+ posts do). The design simplicity also puts all the attention on the content of the post instead of having you distracted by over-done designs.Moreover, the multi-column cards have been great in highlighting popular posts.

The auto #hashtags come in perfectly well in delivering more content without being too distractive. I personally love the ability to view more posts without having to load another page filled with search results. The flip card transition was a nice touch too.

Consistency

Take a look a Google+, now take a look at Google Now, turn your eyes towards Google Keep, and quickly to the new Google Maps. What do you see? I see consistency, design consistency.

Google has been having this really clean cut design filled with cards across most of their products, and that has helped improved the user experience. I love the cards layout. It gets the right information to me at the right time, and I don’t have to bother scanning through large amounts of text anymore. It’s just simple and straight to the point. And it is vital that Google is keeping this consistency throughout all their products.

There is also loads of similarities between the web layout of Google+ and its mobile apps. The navigation on the left resembles the navigation in the Android app, and the new Hangouts have the same layout in both web and mobile.

Responsiveness

I’m not sure if I was the only one, but I had a huge problem when I switched from my dual monitor desktop to my notebook. The old Google+ layout never worked well with smaller screens. It was too large for it - most posts required me to scroll down or zoom out. It drove me nuts not being able to use Google+ properly on the notebook.

But with this new layout, I’m not suffering from it anymore. The cards appear in three columns for bigger screens, and two or one for smaller screens. The responsive touch was rather nice. And the cards don’t let the content scream at you, it displays it neatly with pure simplicity.

--

--

Shiva Narrthine
I. M. H. O.

Product Designer with experience in UI/UX design and front-end development.