Too Much

The digital age is giving me a wealth of activities to pursue but not enough time to pursue them. Maybe I need to slow down.

Ashur Lazar
I. M. H. O.
2 min readMay 10, 2013

--

I just don’t have enough time! I’ve got a wealth of technologies to interact with but not enough time to enjoy them. I’ve got an iPhone, iPad, Xbox, Mac, PC, the list goes on. I have amazing TV shows and movies to watch, incredible games to play, apps to discover, new music to listen to, a plethora of books to read and productive tools to learn and use on the computer. I’m tired just thinking about all that. I’ve got to create a schedule in my calendar to pursue all this, to make sense of it all.

This doesn’t take into account the human interactions I must maintain and keep healthy. I have my wife who I have to make sure to spend time with and actually, you know, TALK to. My two boys to play with and teach and scold. My extended family, my friends, work colleagues, people I sorta know via social media. It seems endless.

You know sometimes I just want to veg out, sit without thinking or doing anything in particular, maybe go for a walk without a destination. The problem is I feel that I’m missing out, that I’m not being productive or watching what everyone else is talking about. I’m anxious that I won’t get to experience all these great things!

I’ve come to the realisation that you can’t do everything. I’m not going to be able to read every book on my list, see every great movie, keep up to date with the latest TV shows. I think the answer for me is to be happy in the moment, with the people you’re with and the experience that is happening now. Don’t keep looking ahead or behind or to what others are doing. It seems to slow down time and that’s got to be a good thing.

--

--