Too much information.

What are we afraid of?

Chris Tosswill
I. M. H. O.
1 min readNov 13, 2013

--

From time to time a I see a conversation like the following.

In this case its discussing a Facebook connected app which generates amusing strings of text base on your past statuses but that doesn't really matter.

Many people have odd notions of privacy or more specifically they feel as though they need to be concerned about it but aren’t really sure why.

Note: I have nothing to do with the app in question. Though I did find it pretty amusing.

#readbyNSA

I would assert that there is a fundamental difference between giving your Facebook data (name, location, gender etc) to some toy app and the massive surveillance program run by the NSA.

However, I fear that the average consumer cant really distinguish what is or is not safe to do with their information. Instead they have been convinced that a collection of faceless people are trying to steal their ‘data’ and thus shouldn't give it out. Its a shame that this information specter prevents people form enjoying apps or services.

--

--