Why I should Write For Medium?

Rahul Roy
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2013

Okay! I just got the Medium invite and I tested it pretty quickly. Now I am wondering why so many writers, developers and founders are writing for Medium? I don’t get it. Are they getting paid for posting content?

Here are a few things I like about Medium:

  1. Editor: Medium’s editor is the simplest editor I’ve ever seen.
  2. UI: The UI is nice and clean and focuses more on content.
  3. Comments: The ability to add comments to an individual paragraph is quite awesome.

Medium’s interface is nice and all, but there are other aspects, which needs to be considered before posting anything on medium.

Here are a few cons on top of my head:

  1. No custom domain setup option: I’ve already started a new blog NewbieDev and I would like to transfer my content to medium if medium provides a way to add custom domains.
  2. Ownership of your content: According to medium’s policy you don’t own your content, instead medium has full ownership of your content and that’s a huge bummer.
  3. Inability to modify template: Medium’s UI is nice, but you might wanna customize the look and feel of it to suit your needs.
  4. Unhelpful URL’s: It would be nice if medium provides some way to modify the URL of a post.
  5. Embedding Codes: Right now I can’t find any option to embed codes.

These cons shadows good things about Medium(at least for me).

Until Medium changes, it’s content policy I’m not going to blog on Medium. I’m tempted, but I won’t use it as my primary blog.

Update 2021: This post was written when the Medium was initially launched! I think it’s been well adopted, but it’s still a third party platform and I’m not sure how their policies have changed over time.

--

--

Rahul Roy
I. M. H. O.

Computer science and engineering graduate and a freelance Ruby on Rails Developer. www.newbiedev.com