http://www.psdgraphics.com/

Why I Write Anonymously

I’m Not Hiding, I’m Learning…

Ooha Kala
I. M. H. O.
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2013

--

I’m a writer. Of sorts.

I’ve had some of my work put out here and there under my proper name, but it remains an aspiration to become a critically acclaimed author whilst I do a regular job in order to manage day-to-day life.

I find that I am not a person who is obsessed with privacy and generally feel that I have nothing to hide. I have never really operated a personal blog or a Twitter account (until now to sign up for Medium). I do not even have a Facebook account anymore and have not in years.I am not hiding behind anonymity in order to put out my opinions; as I’m not writing about anything terribly controversial.

People may, perhaps, think I am being pretentious or creating a cheap ploy by being anonymous, but that is not my intent. In fact, I only have a few readers (whom I deeply appreciate) compared to most of you. I do not think I am doing anyone a disservice, though please do tell me if you disagree.

As a writer, I want to improve my craft and want it to be judged on its own standing and not in connection with me as a person. Even if this is not plausible in actuality, I purport that it is somewhat possible online, and on Medium.

Writing Online

The beautiful part about Medium is that I’m reaching people I do not know; whose readership (in some sense) determines the viability of my work. To date I’ve published a sociological article, two lighthearted pieces, a self-motivational work, and two of my experimental short stories. The initial goal of my Medium account was purely to see how my short stories might be received outside of the self-congratulating literary circles I am sometimes a part of (edit: I have submitted my work for readings in workshops and to friends and family but fear their opinions are too kind to me). Interestingly, my sociological article and self-motivational piece received substantially more readership than my other works.

Who Am I?

In notes and messages people have often assumed my gender, background, and opinions. Both men and women discriminate or call an opinion invalid based upon whom it comes from. It’s interesting; and I do not have a problem with it. I do enjoy it, because it tells me about how my writing comes across as well as the expectations and thinking of the person writing to me. It is fascinating, and I can honestly say it has helped me understand people better.

With that said, I’ve actually made quite a bit about myself known in my piece “Maybe This’ll Be My Year” and my profile summary because I know, from my own experience, as a reader you want to connect with the author as much as possible for the sake of commonality and in order to relate. As I’ve mentioned, I’m a runner, a writer, hold 3 degrees, founded a nonprofit and an ecommerce concept, am in my mid-20s, live in England, love touring the world, am of Indian descent (though not born or raised in India) and speak Telugu.

Is it worth your time to know more than that? How much do I know about you? Whilst, I am certain most of you are lovely people, I am unsure if it is appropriate for me to know more about you than you care to reveal. So really, you just have not seen my face, do not know my gender, and do not know the absolute specifics on the details provided above.

The truth is, I already face exception to them in the mainstream publishing world which has a unique set of experts(i.e. literary agents and publishers). I have quite often found that some (not all) of these persons expect me to hold certain opinions and write about certain issues because of their own mindsets, impressions (Edit: meaning both positive and negative stereotypes) towards people such as myself, and because they think that is what sells (Edit: because writers similar to me tend to write in a particular genre). My intent is certainly to whine or complaint; some things are what they are and it is natural.

Still, writing online and writing on Medium, does not have these impressions as obstacles and I can write to my heart’s content.

In the end, I’m just putting ideas out into the marketplace and hoping people appreciate them for what they are, not whom they came from.

I hope you agree. I would love to hear your thoughts and comments!

Cheers,

O.K.

Follow me @OohaKala

--

--

Ooha Kala
I. M. H. O.

Anonymous sidekick in my own life. Cambridge grad. I write sometimes. I run a lot. I work at a startup. Slytherin but with a Peter Pan Complex! @OohaKala