Why the Moto X Phone Isn’t All They’re Cracking it up to be

Mikah Sargent
I. M. H. O.
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2013

--

Source: Motorola Mobility LLC

The Moto X phone is Motorola’s first device post Google acquisition. Many predicted the phone would be the device to compete with Samsung and Apple’s aluminum grip on the mobile market, but it just isn’t.

I mean, I’ll be the first to admit how doggone cool it is to just talk to the thing whenever you want something. I want my iPhone to do that … with Google Now (sorry Siri). However, it takes so much more than a few cool features to reach Apple/Samsung status. Often it feels like mobile phone manufacturers are trying to sell snake oil, or at the very least they’re being disingenuous. Let me explain:

Source: Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.

Take the Galaxy S3's ‘Best photo’ feature — the phone takes eight photos and chooses the best one from the group. And software features like this are misconstrued as hardware features, especially for the not-so-tech-savvy.

Source: Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.

But any manufacturer can add this kind of functionality on modern smartphones. Sigh, there’s just something slimy and dishonest about cramming a bunch of features into a phone and calling it revolutionary.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think Motoroogle is doing this with the Moto X phone, but the phone lacks star power — something that’s easily felt with the iPhone and Galaxy phones.

Source: Motorola Mobility LLC

I mean, it’s not all bad. Surely the customization features will seduce the people who want, well, creative freedom? Yeah … creative freedom. And there will even be some who eat up the ASSEMBLED IN THE USA title.

But if neither of those are doing it for you, maybe the flick-of-the-wrist camera functionality will draw you in!

I don’t know, perhaps I’ll get a big, blue, red, yellow, and green (or other colors while supplies last) slap in the face when this phone takes off, but I just don’t see it happening. The tech world has buzzed and buzzed over the Moto X, but it’s going to take a lot to reach the masses (read: not tech sites). Of course, if anyone (or anything) can do it, perhaps it’s the business who makes mounds and mounds of cash from advertising.

Regardless, I think Steve Kovach of Business Insider said it best when he called the Moto X:

“ … the best phone that no one will buy.”

--

--

Mikah Sargent
I. M. H. O.

Tech enthusiast. Graphic designer. Aspiring polymath. Podcaster. Senior editor at @MobileNations. 📎 I’ve been known to eat food in the shower.