Why Your Twitter Timeline Sucks

Fernando Crespo
I. M. H. O.
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2013

--

Many people I know left Twitter because their timelines had to little relevant information or interesting stuff. If it’s your case I have one advice: You’re following the wrong people.

Don’t be too hard on yourself, I have done this too, but recently I learned and fixed my mistakes. Social networks where made to connect with people, but not necessarily the ones you know in real life.

Each social network has a focus. For instance, in Facebook I only use to connect with people I know or consider friends somehow. Linkedin to connect with business contacts. And Twitter to follow people and sites that I find interesting and can bring something useful to my personal growth.

When I realized it and cleaned my following list, my Twitter became much more interesting e it’s the reason I like App.net very much. Being a closed social network very few people I know in real life are in it, and that’s the reason I can focus on things I like and bring me knowledge.

If you’re getting trouble with your social networks, maybe it’s time to re-evaluate your “virtual friendships” in each one of them. Try it and then tell me if it was beneficial or not.

You can find me at Twitter and App.net or by email.

--

--