TIKD Review

Naveen Gurram
Naveen Gurram
Published in
4 min readDec 26, 2018

--

I meaning to write review about my experience with TIKD from long time, when I wanted to use this service a year back, there weren’t any reviews available online anywhere, and I hope to make this post so it layout my experience and hoping it might help someone.

TIKD Get rid of your traffic ticket from your phone in two minutes, plus no points or your money back guaranteed!

Any year back I was involved in a collision and as a result, I got 3 points and a ticket and I was prepared to pay the fine on the same day, but information was not available in their system immediately and I started to think about challenging it in the court and was looking for attorney specialized in that area, and I stumbled on this TIKD and I remembered a story in NPR as well about the service.

As an online service, it is easy to avail and all it took was snap a picture of your violation ticket and provide authorization for your credit card so when the time comes they will use it pay for the ticket.

Since I had about 30 days to pay the ticket and I submitted my ticket info on Day 0, I was quite confident that if they didn’t accept the ticket, I will have enough time to pay the ticket. By the way at the time service was offered in a handful of states and counties.

I forgot about it and I was busy dealing with insurance and other related info and even though I had the deadline date in my mind, I forgot to follow up with them and they had this link which shows the status of your service ticket.

To my surprise, I got a letter from county court that I failed to pay the fine within a stipulated timeframe so they gave me the notice to appear before the court or get my license canceled. I got panicked and called their custom care and after a half hour waiting finally they mentioned that my case was given to an attorney and they would reach out to me and when I told it’s been a month and no one reached out to me, they gave me the attorney contact and asked me to deal with him directly. So I called up the attorney and luckily I got them on the phone and they confirmed they got my case, and the delay was due to the fact they were waiting to hear from TIKD if they can take up collision case.

Attorney assured me that they are going to file a motion with the court on that day and promised me that I don’t need to worry about the court notice and assured me a speedy process. They asked me to get my driving report from the MVA and send that along with the description of events that preceded the collision. On the same day, the attorney sent me a copy of the brief they filed in the court.

With that assurance, I was waiting to hear from them or the court about the date but to my surprise court sent another note that I failed to pay file or requested date so they sent a letter stating in a week my driver's license will be canceled. I sent an email and called Attorney to find out what happened, and they told me court clerk lost the filing and they are preparing an immediate injunction to set a date, that was during December holiday time and even though I was not planning to travel, I was extra cautious to plan any driving trips.

Finally, after a week court set a date and lawyer represented me and able to reduce points from 3 to 1 and $50 from the original fine. With TIKD promise of a refund, if points are not reduced, I was given a refund of full ticket amount and they, in fact, paid the fine.

For a common man finding an attorney to challenging in court, the hassle is taken away by this app and I liked some many things about them like the email or phone customer service to asking questions and getting clarifications from the attorney and app to track the status was pretty good. On the flip side, if you are using the service be top on your request and follow up immediately to see if an attorney is assigned to your ticket and they filed with court according to the deadlines.

It’s been a year and I hope they added more service areas and might have improved their service, even though service is great, I hope I never have to use their service again ( touchwood ..). I sincerely hope this is useful for anyone looking to avail their service.

--

--