That’s all I want to do!

We need to talk about…the abuse of writers and Vanity Fair’s homage to White privileged women of the GOP

Ezinne Ukoha
We need to talk about…
8 min readDec 5, 2018

--

We need to talk about how writers are used, abused and then tossed out like yesterday’s garbage. The trigger is the latest announcement that Mic got rid of their entire staff, to prepare for the acquisition by Bustle Digital Group. The same steps were taken with Elite Daily back in 2017, when the editorial staff had to go, after Bustle came to the rescue.

Now we all know that shit happens, and as the digital realm advances into the blueprint of Instagram’s flashy portfolio of laser-sharp images and viral videos, we have to wonder if we really need the buzzkill of words.

I happen to love words!

I can’t live without them, and about five years ago, I really believed that the industry was heading in the direction that would allow me to transform those words into a decent living.

Silly I know!

But listen, I was doing a lot of heavy content work for a handful of pubs, and this was while balancing a demanding 9 to 5 corporate job, that was unrelated to my editorial pursuits. From 2008 to 2012, I was blissfully immersed in the booming climate of digital content, and quickly finessing the voice that would allow entry into the platforms of choice.

--

--