Quotes From Dr. Seuss

Celebrating the beloved children’s author

Kiki Wellington
I quote, therefore I am.

--

A photo with covers of Dr. Seuss books.
Photo by phoenix3D on DepositPhotos

On March 2 every year, readers around the world celebrate the birthday of Dr. Seuss by enjoying his work. And why not? Many of us, myself included, have Dr. Seuss to thank for igniting a passion for reading and writing. Today’s quotes are from the beloved author, including some that come from outside of his children’s books.

1. “I know, up on top you are seeing great sights, but down here at the bottom we, too, should have rights.”

2. “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

3. “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

4. “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

5. “Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!”

6. “They say I’m old-fashioned, and live in the past, but sometimes I think progress progresses too fast!”

7. “Don’t give up! I believe in you all. A person’s a person, no matter how small!”

8. “You’ll miss the best things if you keep your eyes shut.”

--

--