Quotes From Duran Duran

Because August 10 is Duran Duran Appreciation Day

Kiki Wellington
I quote, therefore I am.

--

Photo by mobilinchen on DepositPhotos

Many moons ago, a young Kiki Wellington got permission to stay up late to watch Friday Night Videos, even though it was well past her bedtime. She saw the debut of the “New Moon on Monday” video by Duran Duran, and heard them in a fun interview. She was hooked, and after already nurturing a devotion to the Beatles for years at that point, the natural progression from the Fab Four to the Fab Five only made sense. The next day, she took her allowance to the record store and bought her very first cassette, Seven and the Ragged Tiger.

To this day, I still love Duran Duran and though I don’t listen to them as obsessively as I did back then, I was pleasantly surprised to find that August 10 is Duran Duran Appreciation Day. I still appreciate their lyrics and here are some of my favorites.

1. “I’ve seen you on the beach and I’ve seen you on TV
Two of a billion stars it means so much to me
Like a birthday or a pretty view
But then I’m sure that you know it’s just for you.”
-Rio

2. “Standing on the edge of a quay
Low lights flashing on the water for me
Fogging my mind darkens my eyes
Silently streaming for a distant sound
Ripple river yellows
Rising for…

--

--