It’s time for a bunch of life-changing adventures.

South America, I’ll be back

Alexandra Polič
I stayed
Published in
2 min readDec 25, 2023

--

So, life has sent me some unexpected changes lately. I figured the best way to deal with that was to add some more unexpected changes myself. Long story short: I just booked a one-way ticket to Quito, Ecuador. To the place where the best journey of my life began five years ago.

I’m really not sure whether I’m just really adventurous or fucking crazy. Either way, I still love being surprised by myself. And I really can’t wait to see what’s in there for me this time.

I do even have less of a plan than I had last time. I just know that I’ll be meeting up with some terrific friends on the Galapagos Islands, enjoying some sun, and snorkeling with animals. And then, I’ll just see what happens.

I still can’t believe I’m doing this (again).

Looking back to my first backpacking trip, there are just two things that I regret: that I booked a return flight (which I missed) and that I didn’t bring my camera. As you already know, I chose one way this time, because I know myself well enough by now to see that that’s a waste of money. And because I don’t have any time to waste either, the camera is already packed. I’ll be back in South America in just ten days.

And I’m so so freaking excited for all the changes that life has got to offer there. So, stay tuned, I’ll keep you updated.

--

--

Alexandra Polič
I stayed

Austrian journalist in constant progress. Currently discovering Chile.