Apocalypse Fashionista

You too can achieve this look

Amber Fraley
From Kansas, Not Dorothy
3 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Selfie of author

I’m not entirely sure why, but I have almost completely given up on my appearance as of late. Yeah, I know people have been joking about sweats culture right now, but I feel like it’s more than that for me. At this point it’s almost like … a protest.

I haven’t worn makeup in months. Why bother? Half my face is covered by a mask and the other half is covered by glasses, because I sure as shit am not going to waste my daily disposable contacts on the apocalypse. I only wear sports bras. Over the sports bras I only wear leggings and the same set of oversized t-shirts. Not my best t-shirts because I’m saving those for after the apocalypse. Right now I’m wearing my older, slightly more faded t-shirts that still look kind of okay if I happen to actually run into someone I know, which is incredibly rare, because I almost never leave the house. I don’t have a lot of video conferences with people, but when I do, I don’t wear makeup then, either.

I have had exactly one professional haircut in the past year. I had my hairdresser cut it into a super-short pixie cut and it’s been growing out ever since. I have been trimming my own bangs. I didn’t even trim my own bangs when I was dirt poor in college.

When I do go out into COVID-world, I find myself almost glowering from behind my mask: Stay

--

--

Amber Fraley
From Kansas, Not Dorothy

Writing about abortion rights, mental illness, trauma, narcissistic abuse & survival, politics. Journalist, novelist, wife, mom, Kansan, repro rights activist.