Running : the Cortès method

JB
I will run in your hometown
3 min readMar 29, 2017

Want to run longer ? Burn your ships.

During the year 1519, Hernan Cortès and his men arrived on the shores of Yucatan. Coming from Cuba, they aimed to conquer the Aztec Empire.

They were scarcely a few hundred, against an entire empire. Their chances of success were less, and their motivation had to be flawless.

Then, to be sure that his men would fight to the end, Cortes ordered some sailors to burn the ships (or just sink them, according to sources).

We will not speak here of the immense human catastrophe that was the conquest of what is now Mexico, but just of this method: to burn its ships.

My motivation dropped as I ran

When I started running regularly, my main running track was a park (there are very few spaces to run in Paris, I will write about it in another story).

The advantage of the park is that when you know the length of a lap, you only have to multiply. A lap around the park is 2km, so I will do it 5 times.

But then, shit happen, and at the end of the third lap, I don’t feel like doing 2 more and I stop. Motivation drop.

Not at every running session, but sometimes.

And then, Cortès !

I must have not a choice to keep running

(I’m not sure this sentence is right).

Strategy change. Here’s how I do train now :

  • Only linear, not circular paths,
  • I run half the distance, then I turn around,
  • So I only need motivation for half the run !
  • (I know I do not want to go back walking -too long-, so I’ll run)

Little example with my longest training :

I ran 10km at — almost — full speed (best times on 5 and 10 kms), and then, after 10km, I turned around and ran 10 to get back.

I almost fainted at the end, but by the North Gods, it’s still my best running session, one year after !

(Now my problem is my running speed, not the distance).

Another way to put it is :

GO. RUN. And when you’re exhausted, turn around and go back, still running.

Burn your ships !

I hope this story was helpful / inspiring for you :)

If you want to run with me in Paris, comment and let’s chat.
If you know a place / a city where I should run, please tell me.
If you think this story is worth reading, hit that little hand please.
(And if you think not, sorry for your time)

From one runner to the others,

JB

I’m a Parisian guy, who loves running and travelling.

With two friends, I created Welcom’ to Paris, a platform to help travellers to meet Parisians and explore the real Paris with them.
Meet, share, experience !
Welcom’ is a community by travellers, for travellers.

--

--

JB
I will run in your hometown

Green mind and acts. Collapse enthousiast. Also, sharing, running. Curiosity is an universal energy.