Are you cut out to write romance?

Ava Bleu
I Write Romance
Published in
1 min readJul 5, 2019

Is this a question you ask yourself?

I can’t tell you how many times people tell me how impressed they are that I write romance novels. And then immediately follow that up by telling me that they couldn’t possibly do that.

I ask them why they think they can’t?

  1. Do you read a lot of romance?
  2. Do you think about writing it a lot?
  3. What’s stopping you?

I don’t usually get to that third question, by that time they’ve already shut me down. I’m left to wonder if they really didn’t think they could or if they never really wanted to in the first place.

I think people talk themselves out of doing what they don’t think they can do. I do that all the time. I just never did it with anything related to writing because writing comes easy to me.

Maybe you shut the idea down because writing doesn’t come as easy. No judgement.

If you’ve considered writing romance and are willing to take a closer look at what’s stopping you, click here to sign up for my short course on how to know if you should pursue the thought any further.

--

--

Ava Bleu
I Write Romance

Author of contemporary & edgy, inspirational romance