Why I don’t give sh*t about Medium Day

KX
I Write What I Like
2 min readAug 12, 2023

And it’s not what you probably think

Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

Tuesday I learn that Medium(dot)com, one of the largest blogging platforms in the world currently doesn't (and only hopes to) support one single African country.

Friday I get an email from the writer "support" team at the same Medium(dot)com telling me about the platform's forthcoming 11th birthday celebration program.

Screenshot of the mail notification. Photo by author

My first impulse was to write back and remind the "team" that I'm from Nigeria so why should I care?

It's one thing when your country isn't supported due to one Latin and Greek technical jargon or another but it's another thing to come up on here and discover that this institution doesn't care to do anything with an entire race of people.

But I don't act on my first impulses so I sat with my friend, in Medium's defence, to think of one or more factors that may have hindered a platform of this magnitude, reaching every other continent on the planet, from touching not Nigeria nor South Africa nor Ghana nor Rwanda.

Not one single one.

Could it be technical? Surely it must be technical... But how?

My friend reminded me that we are talking about a franchise just a day or so to its 11th birthday, surely they could (that's if they would) surmount a technical obstacle in 11 years, no?

Or could it be the ridiculously outrageous presupposition that the whole of Africa has got no content of worth to offer the world?

Gnawed by this big unanswered "why", I’m trying to decide whether to just keep subscribing and reading and supporting the many amazing writers I find (and continue to find) on here or to let my subscription expire and deprive myself the pleasure of premium content in a silent collective continental black middle-finger "f**k you" to Medium?

Okay. I’m probably not in my best mood so I’ll mull it over a good few more days before I decide.

--

--

KX
I Write What I Like

A blues-toned laugher-at-wounds who includes himself in his indictment of the human condition.