Weekend Picks: Cecilia Tham

IAM
IAM Journal
3 min readFeb 7, 2017

--

A very warm welcome to IAM Weekend 17 speaker Cecilia Tham!👋

Cecilia is the founder of MOB Barcelona, FutureFunded, Assemble, FabCafe and MEAT Creatives, and at the heart of each of these enterprises is the importance of collaboration and community (both URL & IRL!).

Each project complements one another, in turn bringing us closer to our innovation-led futures, so we’re thrilled that Cecilia will be sharing her work in cultivating these communities, and facilitating creative making and doing, at IAM Weekend 17!

Now, read on for Cecilia’s Weekend Picks! 👉(You can read more of our IAM Weekend 17 speakers’ Weekend Picks here!)

🚶 This weekend IAM…

Friday evening was chill, stayed home and read. Most of this Saturday I spent reading and working on designing a 3-day workshop for children with a focus in design and technology. We have done loads of workshops mostly with companies as well as young entrepreneurs. We have also worked with young kids, and they are perhaps the most challenging and rewarding participants.

I spent Saturday with a visiting friend and we went to a poorly designed escape room. In general though, I love escape rooms, for me it is the ideal date night.

For the holidays last year, the whole office, all 16 of us, spent the evening in an escape room before our annual holiday dinner.

🎧 IAM listening to…

I am a big fan of musicals, and my all time favourite is Les Miserable. Also fans of RENT, Miss Saigon, Momma Mia and more.

I also love to go back to the good ole days and listen to Faye Wong, probably one of my favorite singer from Hong Kong. On that thread, one of my favorite soundtracks is from the movie In the Mood For Love. I can play that all night long!

📚 IAM reading…

Whiplash: How to Survive Our Faster Future by Joi Ito.

Currently I am reading Whiplash: How to Survive Our Faster Future by Joi Ito. This book is really in line with my ethos and philosophy, not only in my work but also in life. I am a massive fan of Ito, his TED talk on “Becoming a Nowist” is certainly one of my most watched TED talk.

My favorite magazines are Wired and HBR, but they are both really pricey and hard to get a hold of here in Spain.

📺 IAM watching…

I just finished watching Black Mirror season 3 (of course).

I also recently watched the movie Hidden Figures (blew my mind).

🔗 IAM sharing…

The Age of Entanglement, an article by Neri Oxman. This is an essay on the mapping of creative exploration, and I think it is probably one of the most revealing and the most exploratory mapping of our creative processes today.

🦄 IAM (as a GIF)…

Join us at IAM Weekend 17, where we’ll be exploring The Renaissance of Utopias with Cecilia!

--

--

IAM
IAM Journal

We are a creative research lab on a mission to change how the digital economy is changing Everything 🌍 Join us https://billion.iam-internet.com 💙