How I Read 53 Books in 2022

Plus, My Top 5 Books of 2022

Jake Pitts
iamjakepitts

--

There’s a man in Kansas City by the name of Nathan Wilhoit who, probably at this very moment, is reading more than you or me. I was talking to him back in 2020 about his reading habit because I noticed that wherever he went he carried at least two books with him. He shared with me that he was on pace to read 70 books that year and that carrying books with him is helping him accomplish this milestone.

You should know that Nathan is a happily married man with 5 children and a busy career as a band director and music instructor…

…who did, in fact, reach his goal of 70 books that year…

Nathan’s insane.

I love him.

And that encounter with him about his reading goal really affected me. I’m an avid reader but I never really set a goal for reading until that day. It was early enough in 2020 that I was able to chase a goal for the year. So I set off to read 24 books that year.

Nailed it. Easily the most books I’ve read in a year.

The leaps and bounds reading was taking me in all areas of my life created a genuine hunger to keep going further. So in 2021 I read 40 books.

Then at the start of 2022 I wanted to see how much I could push myself. So, I aimed for…

--

--