Deep Purple live in Berlin May 21, 1971

Ulf A. Fischbeck
iBerlin
Published in
5 min readJul 20, 2021

--

My first rock concert. The day that changed my life.

Original concert ticket Deep Purple May 1971, Berlin
Original ticket Deep Purple in Berlin 1971 @2020 rockphan aka Ulf A. Fischbeck

For weeks I tortured my parents with the same question. “May I go to the Deep Purple concert?” My favorite band since their album Deep Purple in Rock. I mean, I was 11 years old. Rock music was my life. Since I was ten years old and attended the French-German grammar school in Berlin, I let grow my hair. I wanted to see my heroes live.

It will only last until 22 hours. Please.

No. You’re too young.

Hey, I am 11. I’ve never been to a rock concert. It’s about time.

Then, the day had arrived, May 21, 1971. This day we received the results of our last French test, a dictation. I got a B or the equivalent of it. Yes, this was my permission to attend the Deep Purple concert. A dream came true.

I hurried home from school. Excited. Without even saying hi, I immediately started bombarding mom with my chatter, like a waterfall. It was all about Deep Purple.

Mom, I had the second-best test in class. Mom, this deserves a reward. I am allowed to go to see Deep Purple tonight.

Mom did not say no. Hence, this meant yes.

When dad returned home from school, he was a young teacher. I welcomed him happily smiling.

--

--

Ulf A. Fischbeck
iBerlin

Professional writer since 1985 without noticing it — Life, music, love, technology. 🖋🥁📷 Rocknrolll Shalt Rule Again, For Love and Peace in every Land!