FOOD

12 Reasons Why Home Is Where My Portuguese Stomach Is

Traditional dishes I’ve learned to cook from my mother’s recipes

Rui Alves
Iberospherical
Published in
12 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Portuguese vegetables used in Portuguese traditional‘s cuisine.’
Photo by Syd Wachs on Unsplash

I’ve been around the world many times, but I can say there is no other place on Earth that plays to my tastebuds like my mother’s kitchen here in Portugal.

My mother is a great cook and she taught me how to make some of our most delightful dishes when I became an expat — I tried my best at cooking.

While I was living in Brussels, I’d often be with my mom on a live call while making dinner so that she could guide me through her recipes from every corner of our little “stone raft” by the Atlantic Ocean, as Nobel prizewinner José Saramago named it in one of his most popular novels.

I invite you to join me on an astronomical reading experience starting here in the north, where Portuguese territory meets Galicia, going all the way down south to the tip of the European continent.

Minho

There’s no better place to start than my region. I live in the Northwest of Portugal, between Trás-os-Montes and Douro Litoral.

Minho is one of the rainiest regions in Europe. Here the winters are long with relatively cold days. The harsh climate, rocky mountains, and scarce land to…

--

--

Rui Alves
Iberospherical

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.