guitars and a picture of Sergio the luthier
Sergio and his instruments. Created in Canva by the author

Crafting Music Beyond Sight

The Story of Sergio, the Alchemist of Wood

Kat De Moor
Published in
5 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Mexico was my home for over 16 years, and even though it has been more than 20 years since I moved back to Europe, it remains a place so close to my heart. Whenever I have the opportunity, I go back to spend time with friends, enjoy the food I miss so much, and fill up all my senses with it.

I love taking in the atmosphere, listening to songs about love and heartbreak, watching the violet sea of jacarandas in the Alameda, enjoying some “tacos al pastor” with an “agua de Jamaica”, or savoring “cochinita pibil” with a margarita.

During one of these trips, I reconnected with my former choir director, Victor. We decided to have lunch at Las Chalupitas in La Condesa, one of my favorite places, where the waiters even know me by name and vice versa.

Victor didn’t come alone; he had a huge case with him that contained a double bass. He was a bit scared to leave it unattended in the car, so he brought it inside.

I jokingly asked, “Should I keep your instrument between my legs or should we just put it against the wall?”

Victor chuckled, and we shared a playful smile. Something I inherited from the Mexicans is their love for double entendres, and my little “ocurrencia” added humor and complicity to our encounter.

At some point during our conversation, Victor mentioned a luthier he had become friends with — Sergio. Intrigued by Victor’s stories, I decided to commission a “jarana” (traditional instrument in Mexico) from Sergio for my son. The instrument exceeded my expectations, showcasing Sergio’s remarkable craftsmanship.

A year later, during another holiday visit to Mexico, I found myself compelled to reach out to Sergio once more. This time, I asked him to create a “requinto” (a five-stringed instrument traditional to Mexico) with a hummingbird painted on it, a present for someone very special. This commission led me deeper into Sergio’s world, where music, craftsmanship, and resilience beautifully intertwine.

A Journey to El Ajusco

The journey to Sergio’s workshop in El Ajusco was an adventure in itself. Accompanied by my friend Mauricio, I arrived at the home of this remarkable luthier. Sergio and his wife Fatima welcomed us warmly into their home where coffee and cake were already waiting for us.

What makes Sergio’s craftsmanship truly astonishing is that he was born blind. Despite his disability, he masterfully uses complex and dangerous machinery to build musical instruments. Relying on his senses of touch, hearing, and smell, he transforms wood into instruments that sing.

The Workshop: A Sanctuary of Sound

Entering Sergio’s workshop was like stepping into an artist’s sanctuary. The walls were adorned with frames, instruments, and tools, each telling a story of its own. Sergio led me through his process, explaining how he builds his instruments by touch and scent, feeling and smelling the wood to understand its sound and personality.

“I’ve always thought of my instruments as my children,” he told me. “They’re an emotional and spiritual part of me. When I’m working, even my mood affects the sound of the instrument. It’ll have a different tone depending on whether I feel happy or sad.”

His dedication and connection to his craft were palpable. He even invited me to touch and smell the wood, anchoring me deeper into the present moment and connecting me to the earth in a profound way.

Sergio’s process begins with selecting the right wood, which he does entirely by touch. He feels the texture, weight, and grain of the wood, learning its story with his fingers. He taps on the wood to listen to its resonance, using his acute hearing to determine the potential sound quality of the instrument. The scent of the wood also tells him about the age and moisture content of each variety of wood, factors that all play a crucial role in the instrument’s final tone.

Once he selects the wood, Sergio begins the meticulous process of shaping it. He uses a variety of tools, each with a specific function, and he knows them all by touch. His hands move confidently over the wood, carving, sanding, and smoothing it into the desired shape. His wife assists by reading measurements and guiding his hands when precision is paramount.

Overcoming Challenges: A Story of Resilience

Curious about how he manages to practice such a demanding profession, I asked Sergio about his disability. He shared that he has retinitis pigmentosa, a condition that prevents light from passing properly into his eyes. It took him five or six years of persistence and perseverance to master his craft. Despite the inherent dangers, Sergio has developed a unique system for making musical instruments.

“The world is made for people who can see,” he said. “Nothing is adapted for those of us who can’t. In the beginning, I did hurt and cut myself. Even sighted luthiers cut themselves sometimes,” he added with a smile. “Many people might see it as a setback, but for me, it’s quite the opposite. If I hadn’t had this disability, I may not have developed an entire system for making musical instruments.”

Sergio, Fatima and Katrien

A Huapango of Inclusion

As our visit came to an end, Sergio took out an instrument and played the traditional huapango song “El Querreque,” infusing it with his own new lyrics that spoke of transformation and inclusion. It was a moving experience, seeing how he uses his music to advocate for social change.It goes a bit like this:

“If I speak of transformation, a recurring thing, a recurring thing, if I speak of transformation; for the good of the nation, nothing is subject to discrimination, a huapango of inclusion has been long in the making”

Finally, he presented me with the requinto I had commissioned. It was a masterpiece, adorned with a hummingbird sipping nectar from a flower. This lovely, delicate bird, a messenger-like presence in Maya legends, symbolized our wishes to the gods.

Sergio’s story is a powerful reminder of what can be achieved through perseverance, faith, and optimism. He has overcome challenges that many of us can’t even imagine, and in doing so, he has created a life filled with purpose and passion. Sergio’s journey is not just about making beautiful instruments; it’s about showing us that with determination, we can overcome any obstacle and create a life we love. His story inspires us to pursue our own dreams, no matter the challenges we may face.

If this story resonates with you and you’d like to learn more about the requinto and the hummingbird, I invite you to read my novel, “Dear Wednesday” (“Querido Miércoles” in the original Spanish version), where this enchanting instrument has become one of the main characters.

--

--

Kat De Moor
Iberospherical

Born in Belgium, Mexican by heart. Passionate about well-being, foreign cultures, and writing. Author of "Dear Wednesday" and "Chronicles of a Longing"