Birds flying high with a background of bright sunlight and moutains
Spreading your wings and flying into the unknown (image created in Canva by the author)

Stepping into the Unknown: How I Found My Way to Mexico

A tale of letters, love, and embracing new beginnings

Kat De Moor
Published in
4 min read6 days ago

--

After my second trip to Mexico, I began writing letters to Oscar. It was the 80s, a time when words like the internet, WhatsApp, and social media had not been invented yet, so we relied on handwritten letters sent by airmail.

Oscar had just graduated from med school and was looking for a job. He was considering leaving Mexico City for one of the other 32 states with more opportunities. Meanwhile, I was back in Brussels, working as a translator for the Ministry of Finance, and dreaming of finding a way to work in Mexico.

A map of Mexico with graphics of letters and airmail symbols
Snail mail from Belgium to Mexico (created in Canva by the author)

One day, while I was stuck in my cubicle, I got a phone call that changed everything. It was the Belgian Embassy in Mexico. I had sent my CV ages ago and almost forgotten about it, thinking I had zero chance. But lo and behold, they had an opening for an assistant to the Agricultural Attaché based in Washington, D.C., who also handled Mexican affairs. I didn’t have to think twice. I shouted, “Yes!” and did a little victory dance in my cubicle.

But then came the worry: Oscar might be leaving Mexico City. Panic mode activated! I sent him a letter, hinting at a big surprise if he stayed in Mexico City, without spilling the beans about my job. Fingers crossed.

Leaving Brussels was a rollercoaster of emotions. My colleagues and my supervisor were fantastic, and my Peruvian friend from Germany, José, came to pick me up from the 29th floor of the Finance tower, where I was emptying the drawers of my desk.

That day, on our way to my parents’ place José confessed that he had a secret crush on me. I had not seen that kind of love declaration coming and of course I had to tell him my heart belonged to Oscar, even if I had no clue whether Oscar had the same feelings for me.

But well, I would soon find out. I was ready to follow the footsteps of Hernan Cortés and conquer — not the entire country — but Oscar’s heart.

Saying goodbye to my family was the hardest part. I can still see my parents waving goodbye at Brussels airport. I was barely 21, knew little about the world, but they knew how stubborn and determined I was. They had no choice but to let me go. I wrote a poem for my mother. My sister Annemie wrote it down in calligraphy and framed it. It is still hanging in my parents’ bedroom. Here is the poem in Dutch (my mother tongue) and my attempt to translate it into English

Birds flying with a sunset and pink sky in the background and a poem
Sunset with birds in the sky and a copy of the poem I wrote to my mom (created in Canva by the author)

Lieve moe, met een zachte traan en heimwee in mijn hart heb ik je omhelsd, nog even heb ik omgekeken om je tedere blik op te vangen, dan heb ik mijn vleugels uitgeslagen om naar andere horizonten te vliegen, het onbekende tegemoet. Mijn vleugels doen soms pijn maar ik vlieg door want ik weet dat ik veilig zal landen en als mijn bestemming liefde heet hoe kan ik me dan vergissen?

Met heel veel liefde opgedragen aan u

Dear Mom, with a gentle tear in my eyes and a heart full of melancholy, I embraced you. For a fleeting moment, I looked back to catch your tender gaze before spreading my wings to soar towards new horizons, into the unknown. Though my wings may ache, I continue to fly, knowing I will land safely. If my destination is love, how can I be wrong?

With all my love, dedicated to you.

Arriving in Mexico City, I waited for my suitcase and then searched for a public phone. Remember those? I had a few leftover coins and called Oscar’s number. His housekeeper answered, saying he was probably at rehearsal. Oscar was part of a group of teachers who brought Mexican folklore and traditional music to schools. I had to find the director of the group, a guy I had met a few times but didn’t have his phone number.

Luckily, the directory saved me. I found the number, but Oscar had just left with Enrique, his friend and fellow musician. Deep sigh. I called Enrique’s place next. His wife, Noemi, whom I was friends with, answered, equally shocked to hear I was at the airport. She told me to stay put and rushed to fetch me.

Meanwhile, I learned Oscar had gone to see a movie. Seriously? More frustration. When Noemi arrived, she expected to find me in tears. Instead, she I was happily chatting with a security guard who had offered me an ‘agua fresca’ during his break.

Finally, Oscar and I found each other. After all the twists and turns, we reunited, and our story truly began.

If you like this story, I invite you to discover my novels ‘Chronicle of a Longing’ (‘Anatomía de una entregain the original Spanish version) and ‘Dear Wednesday’ (‘Querido Miércoles’ in the original Spanish version)

--

--

Kat De Moor

Born in Belgium, Mexican by heart. Passionate about well-being, foreign cultures, and writing. Author of "Dear Wednesday" and "Chronicles of a Longing"