Founder’s Story with Fredrick Douglas Bussey

IBH Media
IBHMedia
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2021

Founder’s story is all about inspiring others through the story of an amazing entrepreneur. We highlight their history, lessons learned and what advice they would give others. This week we have Fredrick Douglas Bussey

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up?

I was the oldest of four kids. Our dad was a minister, and my mom was a teacher. We grew up in Mississippi and Alabama, although I was born in Tennessee. Our parents home-schooled us for our entire primary school careers. I hated it then, but I’m grateful for it now. It helped me think outside the box that has many people locked into certain mentalities.

How did you get started as an entrepreneur?

I was pursuing a career in the music industry, and keeping a regular job with regular hours was not working! So I borrowed $300 bucks from my parents to put a down payment on a commercial cleaning franchise.

I did that for about a year, then left my job for good in July of 2001, to run my business full-time. I didn’t even realize the magnitude of what I was doing. To me, it was just the next logical step. I’ve been an entrepreneur for 20 years, having launched more than 7 businesses in that time!

What is one business lesson you would tell to a startup founder?

Get clear on your gift, and why you really want to start your business.

Have a very specific idea of the life you want to have and build your business to fit that goal. It will keep you focused and on target when life inevitably throws things at you. You’ll be able to have the resilience and flexibility necessary to create the life you want — whatever that looks like for you!

--

--

IBH Media
IBHMedia

Mission to impact and inspire 100 million entrepreneurs in the world. Creator of the Founder’s Story segment started on Clubhouse.