Founder’s Story with Kimberly Lovi

IBH Media
IBHMedia
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2021

Founder’s story is all about inspiring others through the story of an amazing entrepreneur. We highlight their history, lessons learned and what advice they would give others. This week we have Kimberly Lovi.

Tell us about your childhood and where you grew up?

I was born in Manhattan on July 4th — my dad’s one day off from Wall Street! At 4 years old, my parents moved us to a suburb of Los Angeles, now called Oak Park. It’s a middle class neighborhood that is very “small town” surrounded by the Santa Monica Mountains, just over the hill from Malibu. We didn’t have a lot of money, but we had a ton of love. My parents raised my sister and me to be strong, independent women. They always emphasized work ethic and instilled confidence in ourselves. They encouraged us to try and fail — a LOT. And they taught us that the key to success was not in sitting in the failure, but in having the guts to get back up, brush yourself off, and keep ongoing.

How did you get started as an entrepreneur?

I got started as an entrepreneur back in college, when I started a jeans company with my boyfriend at the time. I then worked for a billionaire start-up and went on to get my MBA with a specialization in entrepreneurship. This led me to a 9 year Management Consulting career and finally, to my current Coaching & Consulting Business and Podcast, as seen on kimberlylovi.com

What is one business lesson you would tell to a startup founder?

A business lesson I would share with a founder is to learn first. Never be afraid to be a student. Work as an intern, or eve. a lower level staff if you need to. However, you can get in. Show up and rock that position. Have an amazing attitude and impeccable work ethic and you will be pulled into board meetings and learn more in a single year than you could learn in a decade on your own. Be a student and when you have a chance, STUDY people. Study leadership styles, study success and failure of others. Don’t be in such a rush for the big title. Success is not built overnight, despite what you may see on social media. Build real skills and real relationships. Through that, only then, can you build the true confidence you will need to be an outstanding leader, boss, and entrepreneur.

--

--

IBH Media
IBHMedia

Mission to impact and inspire 100 million entrepreneurs in the world. Creator of the Founder’s Story segment started on Clubhouse.