ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME

Jeff Tate
IBM CSC Thailand 3
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2018

Fear of the unknown can become paralyzing. It keeps us from exploring all the amazing things this world has to offer. I have heard one definition of fear that resonates with me deeply — fear is false evidence appearing real. The false evidence, as it pertains to the unknown, may include the following thoughts:

- I’ve experienced all there is to experience in life. There’s nothing new or no further adventures to go on.

- It’s safer to live within my current realm of experiences.

- It’s dangerous to try new things.

- Going into the unknown will expose my weaknesses, fears, and failures. It’s not worth the risk.

Growing your spirit of adventure and feeding your desire to learn will enable you to step out of your comfort zone and explore beyond the boundaries formed by your limited experiences, understanding, and even imagination. Be willing to take a risk and invite new experiences into your life. You will soon realize that you can thrive from continual learning, growing your understanding, knowledge, experience, and imagination at any age.

I am personally taking a risk and stepping into the unknown via an IBM Corporate Service Corps assignment. It’s an assignment where I’ve had to lay aside any fear of the unknown and commit to a 30-day client engagement around the world, without knowing where I would go or which client I would serve. My assignment will be in Bangkok, Thailand. I will be on a team of four providing research and consultation services in an area in which I am not an expert. My journey will involve building expertise and evaluating best-of-breed practices with the client on an accelerated schedule. My preparation began 12 weeks ago with weekly internal IBM training and team building meetings. My world-wide journey begins next week.

Am I afraid? No.

Am I anxious? Maybe a little.

Am I looking forward to the adventure and the possibility of what can be accomplished working together with skilled IBMers focused on delivering client success? ABSOLUTELY!

#IBMCSC #CSCThailand3

--

--