Discovering Thailand’s beauty in flavoured steps

Roxana Ciupariu
IBM CSC Thailand 3
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2018

One of the many beauties of the #IBMCSC program is that you don’t really pick where you’re going; the place ‘picks’ you, so to say, based on your skills, your potential and what you have also done in the past :) After all, it’s all about doing good and giving something in return to the society (which is already one of my life principles and I try to apply it as often as possible!)

Thai dancers

So, when Thailand ‘picked’ me, I had a moment of pausing and my mind just went blank .. wow! Thailand is such an amazing destination, an inspiration and a discovery at every step. Yet, I always thought I am not ready to go there, that I still need to see other places before I can fully appreciate the beauty, the culture, the diversity of Thailand.

And I was so wrong! Thailand does not need me to be ready; I needed to be ready! Thailand embraces you with all its flavours, colours, with the smiles of its people, that you don’t even know where to start enjoying all its gorgeousness!

I’ve had a sneak peak of all this beauty this end of May, at a Festival, organised by the Thai Embassy in Bucharest. What I discovered and I’m so looking forward to do a deep-dive in Thailand? Here’s a list:

  • women clothing is colourful and varied
  • the food is not just noodles, rice and spicy sauces; it’s a combination of very interesting flavours
  • Muay Thay is more than just fighting, it’s a sport of mind, body flebility, strength (both mind and body) and hard preparation
  • this country has so many fruits! (and I am ashamed to say I haven’t heard of a good number of them .. #shameshame)
  • the dancing is lovely (I want to learn some!). And the dancers’ faces are a beautiful visual blend of perfect skin to which you add some colourful make-up! (it’s amazing, I could not stop admiring their beauty)
  • singing is suave (the ladies I listened to singing had such amazing voices! )

Bottom line: can’t wait to get there and to experience all this on my own, as I also manage to do one of the things I like most in the world: help out!

--

--

Roxana Ciupariu
IBM CSC Thailand 3

European #SocialMedia Strategist @IBMEurope. #IBMer. #IBMAmbassador. Happy 2 talk #blockchain, #cloud, #AI, #IoT. ❤ flowers, books, museums! Tweets are my own.