How are YOU CHANGING the world?

Roxana Ciupariu
IBM CSC Thailand 3
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018

When I decided to study Political Science for my BA, I did it for the diplomacy courses part of the Curricula, but also because I believed this way I can influence THE CHANGE and have a positive impact on the world. I obviously had little idea of how I wanted to do that, but I was determined I will not just be an ‘oxygen-absorber’ and ‘carbon dioxide-producer’, but that I will have an impact, no matter how small.

As I was finishing the classes, I did not want to do my BA dissertation on anything else but Humanitarian Aid; and, as it turns out, history tends to repeat itself, so for my MA dissertation I went with the topic of Development Aid. Obviously, I won’t bore you with my post-university activities, such as my time as Development Aid intern at the Romanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs or with what else I kept on doing (aKa volunteer work) to know that I helping out, somehow.

You can say I was a dreamer. I’ll tell you: I still am … and I don’t want to change!

Why am I saying all of this? Because I want to get everyone involved in producing a change! I know, I know, we all have our little own way to do this: some pay attention to the recycle process, some use little-to-no plastic, some volunteer for NGOs, etc. But, there’s one way in which we can produce a higher — even collective — impact which will add to our daily efforts. And that’s right under our noses: it’s VOLUNTEERING!

Wondering if I do it or just preach it? Well, I’m happy to say I do it! :) From getting involved in donating clothes to food, from giving money and participating in beneficial fundraisers, from organising blood donation sessions in my work place to going to ‘the next level’: IBM’s Corporate Service Corps (CSC) program, https://www.ibm.com/ibm/responsibility/corporateservicecorps/

Now in it’s 10th year (wow, can you believe it’s been 10 years already?!), the program selects IBM’s employees from different countries and sends them all over the world to help community organizations address complex issues. In these 10 years of existence, nearly 4,000 participants from more than 60 countries were sent to complete over 1300 projects, which represent over $70 million in market value consulting. We will be traveling to our 43rd country by the end of 2018. (#soExciting!)

I can’t follow up on the numbers with better words; hence, I’ll just leave you with my destination: Bangkok, Thailand, starting 8th of June. #cscthailand3 #YAAYY #IBMCSC

So, stay tuned for some amazing stories to come, as my excitement gets only bigger and bigger every day! :)

--

--

Roxana Ciupariu
IBM CSC Thailand 3

European #SocialMedia Strategist @IBMEurope. #IBMer. #IBMAmbassador. Happy 2 talk #blockchain, #cloud, #AI, #IoT. ❤ flowers, books, museums! Tweets are my own.