A drink on an empty stomach

fairypeachbunnyprincess (Ramya)
Iceberg’s Poetry
Published in
2 min readApr 3, 2024
Image source: Pexels (edited by poet)

The summer morning plaid fog made me drink again

Sulphur stink on the nail buds of the shrubs,

like they scratched their crotches in their sweaty sleep,

stray dog fleas on their yellowing greens

The cement road was chewed out by the rubber enamels of tires,

tires after tires, after exhaust cigar puffing cars,

chafing the thighs of the sidewalks.

The deodorant premature menstruating clouds

against the aches of the liver of the sun,

puffed past by my window, like fuzzy, crystalizing vape smoke

My tongue, all parched and eyes dreary as a dog’s browns

on the acne of scooters, cars, all over the bony spined back

of street corners

whose armpits blinked left corner traffic lights and

tiffin shacks painted in cracker cement and refried oil,

like soiled dinner napkins in a bowl of ceramic leftovers.

The car’s lemon perfume,

the yeast and the fermenting grain corner in the pulses alley of the grocery store, naphthalene,

made me sneeze

for wines in pubic cork bottles in sweaty stuffy underwear cabinets

full of mini bar bottle dwarf wine babies but with the hourglass of an imperative women,

like a cartoon underwear rabbit toothed,

chip toothed vape pen in a skirt pocket

secret impulsiveness

I drank as I spoke to my bedroom wall

I drank as the wardrobe sprouted eyes in it’s Indian wood

I drank as the bedsheet blinked back at me through it’s ethnic, fun house, jumbo slide, swirling eyes

I drank, I drank, I huffed, I blew my own breath onto the mirror and sprayed some pink lily ten dollar drug store utility body fragrance powder to have eaten my fill of warped scenery and forgetting, like a whole mythology had been sitting in the oils of the vape

Yes, I want to drink again, yes I never should’ve, yes I didn’t drink for a year cause I wanted children, yes I want children

working on drafting negotiations with body digestive world order, yes I know, yes I think, yes I understand, yes I drank, as the yellowed leaf shrivelled underneath my black shoes, like plastic barrel fried Kentucky chicken skin.

--

--

fairypeachbunnyprincess (Ramya)
Iceberg’s Poetry

Stream of consciousness, experimental poet, dabbling in literary analysis and psychedelic storytelling.