About the toys that still sleep on my bed

fairypeachbunnyprincess (Ramya)
Iceberg’s Poetry
Published in
5 min readJan 29, 2024

--

A poem-

Picture from Pexels- Karolina Grabowski (edited by poet)

plushie religion

plushie roads

plushie poverty

plushie economy

teddy bear grandfathers

ragdoll grandmothers,

their underwear frock rears on his soggy

slumping cushiony paws

eyes staring at nothing

but

my blue repainted checkered walls

like its chipping and the florescent bulb was a cloudy heavenward superstition

heralded by mothball infidels and mosquito angels that circle their sewn cellulite.

You’d call them a Parkinson’s grandfather,

a grieving grandmother in the middle of knitting, staring at something

as intently as if it were the hands of a clock

or a cross, a Jesus

for a clown’s red honking,

white chalk snot dripping wax nose.

Sometimes their heads tilt into their plastic tea cups,

legs kick against the princess-themed teapot I set so gingerly on my ruffled bedspreads,

one buttered toast made of plastic circulated,

like a secret pact orgy buffet,

and I,

making conversation as concrete as the threads coming loose from my rag doll’s furry dreadlocks,

sometimes take their tea cups away,

empty as I placed them on their cotton crotches

and

empty as if they’d drank them

and set them aside in my pink wallpaper house,

sitting on wicker chairs for each.

The crumbs of my lunch

create a stubble of dirty grey pavement

for the economy of the New York pacing dolls,

the cathedral,

prescription drug over-the-counter tops, cash registers,

my pillows often missing pillow covers become

for sweaty burly heaving scampering mouse-like plastic toy managers

of a crowded bakery that topples flattery and overpriced goods

over queues of the economy

that always have to be somewhere in two hours or two days

but seem to chatter as lively and young as a screening,

as they giggle while they sweat over the delicacies

like they’re stagnant and pudgy as puddles of fresh paint on a canvas

that dry and turn as shiny, ideal as resin.

The horizontal pink striped socks of the dolls,

their manspreading sitting because of silicone mechanism

can’t make them sit with their legs crossed,

or ankles buckled together to stink up and hide the lace of their underwear,

that they look amongst the metropolitan of my mattress’s busy yellow flower bedspread like

lazy day job hookers dragging themselves by the sleeve of their thick mascaras

and their contortionist beauty onto the mattress streets

as if the smog of the hookah-puffing automobiles

were curling their eyelashes

and the electric poles were hangers

for their silicone nylon hair pretty.

I hold each by their legs

like they were chickens grabbed from the coop pantry

for the butcher doctor’s surgically inducing restaurant slaughter

and shake them till their hair gets poofy enough for me

to use pink plastic combs and recline their heads onto my lap,

like

they were in a salon,

getting their hair washed in a dome basin,

except I just combed their nylon hair till half of it came off

and then tied it in shabby ponytails, pigtails

topped with plastic hair accessories I’d never come to use.

Oh, how I used to pick them apart,

shuffle their shoes,

their clothes in my palms when I was five,

like I was automating fashion by bingo ball raffle,

churning,

circling,

turning the wheel

till a shoe dropped out and a skirt dropped out,

and they were lying, plastic,

naked,

lips, noses now pink or green as the silicone against the sketch pens were rote,

lying around in anatomical orgies

like a coop of clucking slaughter chickens,

Five-years-old

and I twisted one’s head in a position I wanted

or was trying to get her out of her jacket in Rubick strategy with her glued limbs,

that I popped her head out of those silicone sockets and joints

like a cork from a bottle of champagne,

and my wails fizzed over my parents’ eight pm TV time serenity

and bubbled and made a puddle over their accommodating nursing patience.

Committing research,

surgery, fashion shows,

modeling agency nakedness,

fat designers and their plastic models

looking at a wall’s distance

as a drape is pinned to their shoulder bone.

When I tried to stop eating to get skinny,

the cellulite around me displayed anatomy and bones

in sockets and joints in naked angles

I never realized could be fashioned,

I felt like I was five, as I stood before the mirror,

lifting knees,

stretching feet

and curling them like pigeon’s twig toes,

lifting armpits and staring,

ripping a doll’s dress

and testing her elastic legs and thighs

into a back arching split,

and yanked her head till her hair touched her back

and looked more like a hunchback

to an empty clothing rack

than a dainty body.

I couldn’t lose the belly fat.

And when I was six I learned,

I couldn’t get every toy on the rack,

even though I grazed a glancing touch of a yearning finger on a face,

through the plastic on the fur

and thought I was on my mattress,

or the couch,

playing as the TV went on and dinner

was being clacked, chopped, yelled

and steamed and fought and cursed at in the kitchen,

when it started from my father’s favorite couch.

And just as I stopped eating more,

cried more,

started liking boys like my skinniness was a permit for it,

I kicked my feet across the shelves

in guitar shredding,

cord tangling,

shrieking,

jumping jack tantrums under the false ceiling of the toy section,

when my mother said

it was too expensive to buy

and my cheeks were pinched into a stifling red,

and I was dragged across aisles

to the billing counter

with furniture or statues in the cart

that I didn’t understand much.

Couldn’t keep consistent with the starving

or the puking

or the water-binging

or the contortionist, waist molding exercises

like my tantrums,

and soon enough,

hunger and loneliness pinched me on the cheeks,

that was rosy with delusion

and I started to eat,

as I started to scrunch my nose at the toys

I cried and begged for my mother to buy

when I was five,

although I still own the broken clucking duck toy

I once ran into the wall,

till its key snapped out and its twig leg came off.

I own and preserve all of my toys from when I was five,

and fiddle with the crinkly, crisp baby food matted in their fur,

plop the doll’s head back into her body,

and don’t touch it,

rub at the sketch pen marks with a damp wipe

till the soapiness imagines

having faded some of the green and the pink.

My teddy bear had its guts torn out,

till its stuffing came out

and my suspicions of plastic or garbage

wrapped within the sticky, frizzy cotton

like some egg-coated chicken kebab,

were as paranoic as the mothball eyes of the infidel toys

that still stared at the wall ahead, passing by my vision,

like an

estranged New York City stranger

on the street.

And I almost gained all the weight I lost

and gained even more

than I was

when I decided to starve myself at fourteen.

--

--

fairypeachbunnyprincess (Ramya)
Iceberg’s Poetry

Stream of consciousness, experimental poet, dabbling in literary analysis and psychedelic storytelling.