Ode to Aura

๐€ ๐๐จ๐ž๐ฆ โ€” โ€œ[โ€ฆ] her breasts became the spouts of falling water, the stream was her body, the flowers her hair, her bow the horn of the horned River in bull-shape.โ€ โ€” Nonnus, Dionysiaca 48.936โ€“942 (III pp. 490, 491).

Diana Dolea
Icebergโ€™s Poetry
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

I

Pity her fairest soul that then started to wheeze,
For in Sangarios her willed legacy was preserved;
So it was because Zeus turned her into a breeze โ€”
And it occurred even though she was profaned.
To conquer eternal life and to make me her heir!
But who am I? Alas! Nothingness โ€” the rising air.

II

Oh, our Aura! She was not prepared for this grim end;
She, as light as the wind, could not fortified her faith.
Oh, devouring Mother, lifeโ€™s tyrannical lines transcend
And still to this day I see her in my dreams as a wraith.
Lord of my infinite sorrow and grief, whom to love?
This abandoned child moans like a mourning dove.

III

Let us not betray her memory and her faint shade!
Yells to hear, we trees lower our treetops to dirt โ€”
If truth matters, we intended to unravel a serenade,
Thus we then chanted to her: โ€˜there is no time to flirtโ€™.
Dionysus gave his scent when rubbed onto her wrists,
Yet she did not wish to be loved in those holy forests.

IV

Beloved land of Gods, how can I dwell in eternal flight,
Never to feel my weight on the mournful earth of men?
When I all alone soar under heaven that is truly bright,
I wonder if dearest Cybele could hold me now and then.
Poets better prove the existence of such a heart of mine,
In times of upheaval, being a poem is my dearer lifeline.

--

--

Diana Dolea
Icebergโ€™s Poetry

๐๐จ๐ž๐ญ๐ซ๐ฒ ๐ญ๐ซ๐ฎ๐ฅ๐ฒ ๐ฅ๐ข๐ ๐ก๐ญ ๐ฎ๐ฉ ๐ฆ๐ฒ ๐ฌ๐จ๐ฎ๐ฅ.